Sportsnet announces 2012 Whitecaps FC broadcast schedule

22 regular season matches to be shown

Sportsnet continues to be home to Vancouver Whitecaps FC this season, featuring 22 regular season matches, more than any other broadcaster. Coverage kicks off on Saturday, March 17, at 7:30 p.m. PT on Sportsnet Pacific and Sportsnet West as Vancouver visits Chivas USA.

Sportsnet’s Whitecaps FC broadcast schedule includes 16 matches on Sportsnet Pacific, four matches on Sportsnet ONE and two matches on Citytv Vancouver.  As announced earlier this year, Sportsnet named former Vancouver and national team goalkeeper Paul Dolan as the new analyst for its Vancouver Whitecaps FC Major League Soccer match broadcasts. Dolan will join play-by-play announcer Craig MacEwen in the broadcast booth to call all of Sportsnet’s Vancouver Whitecaps FC telecasts for the 2012 season, and will appear as a soccer analyst on Connected with Don Taylor on Sportsnet Pacific.

“Canada is a passionate soccer country and we’re thrilled to fuel fans with our extensive Whitecaps FC coverage this season,” said Rob Corte, vice president of production, Sportsnet. “We’ve made a strong off-season addition to our broadcast team in Paul Dolan, and look forward to an exciting season and delivering viewers premium Whitecaps FC broadcasts.”

“We are excited to kick off our second season in Major League Soccer with Sportsnet as our official regional broadcast partner,” said Rachel Lewis, chief operating officer, Whitecaps FC.  “In addition to the first class experience Sportsnet provides during broadcasts, they will continue to offer extensive coverage online and will remain a great resource for 'Caps fans.”

Throughout the season, sportsnet.ca  is front and centre at the pitch providing fans weekly Whitecaps FC blogs from John Molinaro, Martin MacMahon and Irfaan Gaffar.  In addition, Dolan will post a blog that will feature a Q&A with fans. 

Sportsnet’s extensive Major League Soccer coverage this season also includes six regular-season MLS Toronto FC matches and 25 TFC regular-season MLS matches on radio and online on Sportsnet 590 The Fan.

The following is the full Whitecaps FC broadcast schedule on Sportsnet and Citytv Vancouver:

Saturday, Mar. 17

Vancouver @ Chivas USA                           8:30 p.m. MT / 7:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet Pacific, Sportsnet West)

Saturday, Mar. 24

DC United @ Vancouver                              10 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. PT (Sportsnet Pacific)

Saturday, Mar. 31

Vancouver @ Philadelphia                            4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT (Sportsnet Pacific)

Saturday, Apr. 7

Vancouver @ San Jose                                 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT (Sportsnet Pacific)

Wednesday, Apr. 18

Kansas City @ Vancouver                             10 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. PT (Sportsnet Pacific)

Saturday, Apr. 21

Dallas @ Vancouver                                       10 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. PT (Sportsnet Pacific)

Saturday, Apr. 28

Vancouver @ Columbus                                7:30 p.m. ET / 4:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet Pacific)

Saturday, May. 5

San Jose @ Vancouver                                 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT (Sportsnet Pacific)

Saturday, May. 12

Vancouver @ New England                           7:30 p.m. ET / 4:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE)

Sunday, Jun. 10

Houston @ Vancouver                                   7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT (Sportsnet Pacific)

Saturday, Jun. 16

Colorado @ Vancouver                                  7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE)

Wednesday, Jul. 4

Vancouver @ Colorado                                  9:30 p.m. ET / 6:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE)

Saturday, Jul. 7

Vancouver @ Chivas USA                              10:30 p.m. ET / 7:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet Pacific)

Saturday, Jul. 14

Vancouver @ Chicago                                     8:30 p.m. ET / 5:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet Pacific)

Sunday, Jul. 22

San Jose @ Vancouver                                   7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT (Sportsnet Pacific)

Friday, Jul. 27

Vancouver @ Real Salt Lake                          9 p.m. ET / 6 p.m. PT (Citytv Vancouver)

Saturday, Aug. 11

Real Salt Lake @ Vancouver                          7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT (Citytv Vancouver)

Saturday, Aug. 25

Vancouver @ Portland                                   10:30 p.m. ET / 7:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet Pacific)

Saturday, Sept. 15

Vancouver @ Dallas                                         8:30 p.m. ET / 5:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet Pacific)

Sunday, Sept. 23

Colorado @ Vancouver                                    7:30 p.m. ET / 4:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet Pacific)

Wednesday, Oct. 3

Chivas USA @ Vancouver                               10 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. PT (Sportsnet Pacific)

Saturday, Oct. 27

Vancouver @ Real Salt Lake                            9 p.m. ET / 6 p.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE)