Canada vs. Denmark Preview

Russell Teibert set to feature for Canadian men’s national team

Whitecaps FC midfielder Russell Teibert is set to take the next step in his international career when Canada take on Denmark this Saturday, January 26, at 12 p.m PT (CLICK HERE to watch the live streamed on

"Russell has been developing a lot over the last year, especially at the end of the year he was showing signs of major improvement," said Martin Rennie, Whitecaps FC head coach. "He's a very talented player and I think that he can be a main player for Canada for many years to come, and the same for our club."

Teibert earned his first cap when he was called up in August of 2012, seeing the field in a friendly against Trinidad and Tobago. The young Canuck will now be looking to add to that experience in upcoming friendlies against Denmark and the United States.

Interim head coach Colin Miller leads a young Canadian men’s national team, with an average age of 24.

“What we’re trying to build on is a new group of players, a younger group of players and try to get them believing in themselves,” said Miller.

The inexperience of the group will be a challenge as they take on the Danish national team at Kino Sports Complex in Tucson, Arizona.

“Any player who puts on a Denmark strip is a quality player,” noted Miller. “We know that. We understand that. Our defensive organization will be important.”

10 players in Canada's contingent are earning their first call-ups, including Whitecaps FC trialists Andres Fresenga, Evan James, and Simon Thomas.

The only players returning from the 2012 group that attempted to navigate through the CONCACAF region of FIFA World Cup qualifying are Dwayne De Rosario, Lars Hirschfeld, Nikolas Ledgerwood, and Tosaint Ricketts.

Like Canada, Denmark bring a squad that contains several players getting their first taste of international soccer. However, the Danes can count on the experience of Dennis Rommedahl, a veteran of 121 caps who appeared in the 2002 and 2010 World Cups as well as the 2004 European Championships.

Also featuring for Denmark will be seven players from the current Danish Superliga champions FC Nordsjælland.

Canada will be looking to improve on their current record against Denmark having lost both of their previous two encounters. In 1989 they lost 2-0 in Aalborg and then in 1995 were defeated 1-0 by the then European Champions.


1-GK- Lars Hirschfeld | NOR / Vålerenga Fotball
2- M- Nik Ledgerwood | SWE / Hammarby Fotboll
3- FB- Ashtone Morgan | CAN / Toronto FC
4- CB- Nana Attakora | FIN / FC Haka
5- CB- Dejan Jaković | USA / D.C. United
6- M- Philippe Davies | USA / Richmond Kickers
7- M - Terry Dunfield | CAN / Toronto FC
8- CM- Kyle Bekker | CAN / Toronto FC
9- F- Tosaint Ricketts | NOR / Sandnes Ulf
10- F- Frank Jonke | FIN / FF Jaro
11- M - Russell Teibert | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC
12- M- Jonathan Beaulieu-Bourgault |
13- CB- Doneil Henry | CAN / Toronto FC
14- M/F- Dwayne De Rosario | USA / D.C. United
15- M- Emmanuel Gomez | ARG / Club Atletico Griffa
16- M - Matt Stinson | CAN / Toronto FC
17- F- Kyle Porter | CAN / FC Edmonton
18- GK- Roberto Stillo | ITA / Genoa CFC
19- M- Evan James | 
20- D- Mason Trafford | FIN / IFK Mariehamn
21- FB- Andrés Fresenga | URU / Racing Club de Montevideo
22- GK- Simon Thomas |

GK-David Jensen | DEN / FC Nordsjælland
GK-Frederik Rønnow | DEN / AC Horsens
GK-Jesper Hansen | DEN / FC Nordsjælland
GK-Steffen Rasmussen | DEN / AGF Aarhus
DF-Bashkim Kadrii | DEN / OB Odense
DF-Bassel Jradi | DEN / AB
DF-Daniel Høegh | DEN / OB Odense
DF-Daniel Pedersen | DEN / Silkeborg IF
DF-Henrik Dalsgaard | DEN / AaB Aalborg
DF-Jens Jønsson | DEN / AGF Aarhus
DF-Jonas Knudsen | DEN / Esbjerg fB
DF-Jores Okore | DEN / FC Nordsjælland
DF-Kasper Larsen | DEN / OB Odense
DF-Kris Stadsgaard | DEN / FC København
DF-Lars Jacobsen | DEN / FC København
DF-Mark Gundelach | DEN / FC Nordsjælland
DF-Mikkel Kirkeskov | DEN / AGF Aarhus
MF-Casper Sloth | DEN / AGF Aarhus
MF-Kasper Kusk | DEN / AaB Aalborg
MF-Kasper Lorentzen | DEN / FC Nordsjælland
MF-Mathias Gehrt | DEN / Brøndby IF
MF-Michael Silberbauer | DEN / OB Odense
MF-Nicolai Stokholm | DEN / FC Nordsjælland
FW-Anders Christiansen | DEN / FC Nordsjælland
FW-Andreas Cornelius | DEN / FC København
FW-Dennis Rommedahl | DEN / Brøndby IF
FW-Emil Larsen | DEN / OB Odense
FW-Nicklas Helenius | DEN / AaB Aalborg
FW-Nicolai Brock-Madsen | DEN / Randers FC
FW-Nicolai Jørgensen | DEN / FC København
FW-Uffe Bech | DEN / Lyngby BK
FW-Yussuf Poulsen | DEN / Lyngby BK