Gold Cup
USA Today Sports Images

Everything you need to know about the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup

The 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup is upon us.

Panama and Haiti kick off the tournament today in Frisco, Texas, followed by the U.S. and Honduras. Canada will play their first match on Wednesday against El Salvador in Carson, California. 

This year's Gold Cup will take place in 14 cities across the U.S. and Canada, culminating in the July 26 final in Philadelphia. 

Want to know more about the Gold Cup?

Then you’re in the right place.


In short, the CONCACAF Gold Cup crowns the regional champion of North America, Central America, and the Caribbean. For those familiar with the recently concluded Copa America, which crowns the South American champion, it’s essentially the CONCACAF equivalent.


The Gold Cup is held every two years.


The winner of this year’s Gold Cup will face the 2013 Gold Cup champion (USA) in a playoff to determine the CONCACAF entrant for the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup – a dry run for the World Cup contested by the eight regional champions as well as the World Cup holder and host nation.

Also of note, this year’s tournament will serve as qualifying for the 2016 Copa America Centenario, which will feature the top teams from both South America and CONCACAF.

The U.S., Mexico, Costa Rica, and Jamaica have already qualified, leaving two more spots for CONCACAF teams.


There are a total of 12 teams in the competition.

North American: U.S., Mexico, Canada
Central American: Costa Rica, Guatemala, Panama, El Salvador
Caribbean: Jamaica, Trinidad and Tobago, Haiti, Cuba
Playoff winner between Caribbean and Central American fifth place teams: Honduras


Every single match will be carried live on at least one of Sportsnet’s channels.

Here is the broadcast schedule for Canada’s matches:

  • Wednesday, July 8 vs. El Salvador: 7:30 p.m. PT on Sportsnet 360 and Sportsnet World
  • Saturday, July 11 vs. Jamaica: 3:30 p.m. PT on Sportsnet and Sportsnet World
  • Tuesday, July 14 vs. Costa Rica: 5:30 pm. PT on Sportsnet ONE and Sportsnet World

Click here to see the complete broadcast schedule.


Two Whitecaps FC players will feature in the tournament: Russell Teibert for Canada and Darren Mattocks for Jamaica. Both teams are in the same group, too.


Mexico are the most successful nation in Gold Cup history with six titles, followed by the U.S. at five. Canada are the only other nation to have won a Gold Cup – back in 2000.