Groups drawn for EURO 2008 finals

Sky Sports World Cup finalists France and Italy will meet again at EURO 2008, while co-hosts Switzerland will play Czech Republic in the tournament's opening game. France and Italy clashed in the qualifiers for next summer's finals, having also gone head-to-head in the 2006 World Cup final in Germany. The European powerhouses have been paired yet again and are in the competition's proverbial 'Group of Death', having denied Scotland a spot in the finals. Along with Les Bleus and the Azzurri in Group C are Holland, who won the competition in 1988, and Romania. Switzerland are in Group A and have been drawn alongside 2004 hosts Portugal, Czech Republic and Turkey. Group B is likely to be a fiercely competitive affair, with co-hosts Austria drawn alongside Germany, Poland and Croatia, who ended England's chances of qualification for next year’s finals. European Championship holders Greece have been drawn in Group D and will face Russia, Spain and Sweden - the latter two having emerged from Northern Ireland's qualifying group. The opening match of EURO 2008 is on June 7th in Basel when Switzerland will face the Czechs. The final will take place on June 29th in Vienna. EURO 2008 finals - Group A Czech Republic, Portugal, Switzerland, Turkey Group B Austria, Croatia, Germany, Poland Group C France, Holland, Italy, Romania Group D Greece, Russia, Spain, Sweden