Residency win spring tournament

Vancouver Whitecaps FC Residency claimed the 2008 Keg Spring Cup title after 3-0 final victory over the University of British Columbia Thunderbirds on Sunday. Fresh from playing four competitive games at Dallas Cup XXIX in Texas, Thomas Niendorf's side claimed a seventh-minute lead through Philippe Davies, who converted a Whitecaps Residency free kick. The squad - which also included men's first team members Stefan Leslie and Mason Webb – doubled their advantage through Gagandeep Dosanjh on 52 minutes before Webb scored the third goal with 13 minutes remaining. It was the Residency team's second win over the 2007 Canadian Interuniversity Sport men's soccer champions in less than a month, with goalkeeper Simon Thomas earning the clean sheet, while Navid Mashinchi was awarded the final's Most Valuable Player honour. Whitecaps Residency reached Sunday's final when they dethroned cup holders and tournament hosts University of Victoria Vikes 3-1 on Saturday. Niendorf's squad wrapped up the game before halftime, with Randy Edwini-Bonsu opening the scoring before new men's team signing Webb made it 2-0. Residency defender Anthony DiNicolo made it three just before the break when he converted a Whitecaps Residency free kick. Cole McFarlane scored UVic's consolation goal in the 64th minute, as Bruce Wilson's side would not repeat as Keg Spring Cup champions for 2008. For his efforts, Leslie was awarded the game's MVP honour. In Sunday's consolation game, UVic lost 4-1 to the Trinity Western University Spartans.