Anthony Ampaipitakwong (Photo courtesy Ernie Aranyosi)
Ernie Aranyosi

MLS announces initial list of adidas MLS Player Combine invitees

NEW YORK - With the MLS SuperDraft just over a month away, Major League Soccer announced on Thursday morning the initial list of college seniors who have been invited to the 2011 adidas MLS Player Combine.

The 54 college seniors in the initial list come from 36 NCAA Division I schools. They were selected by a panel of NCAA Division I coaches - in conjunction with MLS coaches.

The list boasts many college standouts, including nine players from the four teams competing in this coming weekend's NCAA College Cup: J.T. Murray (Louisville); Justin Meram (Michigan); Anthony Ampaipitakwong (pictured above) and Christopher Korb (Akron); and Eddie Ababio, Jalil Anibaba, Michael Farfan, Stephen McCarthy, and Dustin McCarty (UNC).

This is just the initial list of invitees. More players, including those from the Generation adidas program, NCAA Division II and III schools, and NAIA schools, will be added in the coming weeks.

The 2011 adidas MLS Player Combine is set to take place in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, from Friday, January 7, to Tuesday, January 11. will have full coverage of the combine games and profiles of many of the players.

In next month's MLS SuperDraft, Whitecaps FC hold the first and eighth overall selection, as well as the first picks in the remaining three rounds. The 2011 MLS SuperDraft will be held in conjunction with the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) Convention in Baltimore, Maryland, on Thursday, January 13, at 9 a.m. PT.

2011 adidas MLS Player Combine list by position

GOALKEEPERS (5): Bryan Meredith (Monmouth); Jeff Attinella (University of South Florida); Jimmy Maurer (South Carolina); Joe Willis (University of Denver); Josh Ford (UConn)

DEFENDERS (17): A.J. Soares (California); Bilal Duckett (Notre Dame); Bobby Warshaw (Stanford); Christopher Korb (Akron); Colin Givens (Michigan State); Curtis Ushedo (UAB); Demitrius Omphroy (California); Eddie Ababio (UNC); Greg Klazura (Notre Dame); Greg King (UConn); Indy Smith (UNC Wilmington); Jalil Anibaba (UNC); J.T. Murray (Louisville); Juan Cruz (SMU); Michael Boxall (UCSB); Rich Balchan (Indiana); Tyler Lassiter (North Carolina State)

MIDFIELDERS (21): Anthony Ampaipitakwong (Akron); Blake Brettschneider (South Carolina); Cole Grossman (Duke); Daniel Keat (Dartmouth); Dustin McCarty (UNC); Ernesto Carranza (Sacramento State); Guillermo Cortes (Maryland); Hector Jimenez (California); Jimmy Banks (Green Bay); John "Jeb" Brovsky (Notre Dame); Jon Okafor (Brown); Josue Soto (SMU); Karl Reddick (Boston College); Konrad Warzycha (Ohio State); Lebogang Pila (St. Peter's College); Matheus Braga (Penn State); Matt Gold (Ohio State); Michael Farfan (UNC); Servando Carrasco (California); Stephen McCarthy (UNC); Tommy Drake (Clemson)

FORWARDS (11): Amani Walker (UCI); Ashley McInnes (Tulsa); Brayan Martinez (Seton Hall University); CJ Sapong (James madison); Davis Paul (California); Efrain Burgos (Cal Poly San Luis Obispo), Jason Herrick (Maryland); Justin Meram (Michigan); Levi Houapeu (UMBC); Philip Bannister (Loyola University Maryland); Steven Perry (Notre Dame)

2011 adidas MLS Player Combine list by school

University of Akron: Anthony Ampaipitakwong, Christopher Korb

UAB: Curtis Ushedo Boston College: Karl Reddick Brown University: Jon Okafor

University of California: Servando Carrasco, Hector Jimenez, Demitrius Omphroy, Davis Paul, AJ Soares

UC Santa Barbara: Michael Boxall

UC Irvine: Amani Walker

Cal Poly San Luis Obispo: Efrain Burgos

University of Connecticut: Josh Ford, Greg King

Clemson University: Tommy Drake

Dartmouth College: Daniel Keat

University of Denver: Joe Willis

Duke University: Cole Grossman

Indiana University: Rich Balchan

James Madison University: CJ Sapong

University of Louisville: J.T. Murray

Loyola University Maryland: Philip Bannister

University of Maryland: Guillermo Cortes, Jason Herrick

University of Maryland, Baltimore County: Levi Houapeu

University of Michigan: Justin Meram

Michigan State University: Colin Givens

Monmouth University: Bryan Meredith

University of North Carolina: Eddie Ababio, Jalil Anibaba, Michael Farfan, Stephen McCarthy, Dustin McCarty

UNC Wilmington: Indy Smith

North Carolina State University: Tyler Lassiter

University of Notre Dame: John (Jeb) Brovsky, Bilal Duckett, Greg Klazura, Steven Perry

Ohio State University: Matt Gold, Konrad Warzycha

Penn State University: Matheus Braga

Sacramento State University: Ernesto Carranza

Seton Hall University: Brayan Martinez

University of South Carolina: Blake Brettschneider, Jimmy Maurer

University of South Florida: Jeff Attinella

Southern Methodist University: Juan Cruz, Josue Soto

St. Peter's College: Lebogang Pila

Stanford University: Bobby Warshaw

University of Tulsa: Ashley McInnes

UW Green Bay: Jimmy Banks