Canada 2011 Cyprus Cup

Canadian women win 2011 Cyprus Cup

Former Vancouver Whitecaps FC defender Emily Zurrer scored the winner in the first half of extra time, as the Canadian women's national team defeated the Netherlands 2-1 to win their third Cyprus Cup title on Wednesday.

The final was played at Tassos Marcou Stadium in Paralimini, Cyprus, and the win completed a third Cyprus Cup title in four years. Canada previously won the Cyprus Cup in 2008 and 2010, while they were runners-up in 2009.

The game was played in windy conditions, with Canada taking the lead on 20 minutes when another former 'Caps player in Jonelle Filigno scored on a defensive miscue by the Dutch. The Netherlands were able to equalize in the 40th minute when Claudia van den Heiligenberg shot past Canadian goalkeeper Erin McLeod to level matters.

The second half had few chances for both teams, and this set up Zurrer's extra-time winner, with victory being a great boost for Carolina Morace's squad, as they prepare for this summer's FIFA Women’s World Cup in Germany.

17 of the 26 players in Canada’s Cyprus Cup squad have played for the Whitecaps FC women's team in the United Soccer Leagues W-League. Wednesday's victory was Canada's fifth consecutive victory in 2011 and improved the team’s record to six wins and one defeat this year.