Canada names roster for FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup in Japan

The Canadian Soccer Association announced today that three members of the Vancouver Whitecaps FC women’s team have been named to Canada’s squad for this year’s FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup in Japan.

‘Caps centre back Nicole Setterlund (pictured), midfielder Jaclyn Sawicki, and striker Jenna Richardson are among the 21 players to be selected by Canadian U-20 women’s head coach Andrew Olivieri for the upcoming tournament, which runs from Sunday, August 19, to Saturday, September 8, in five cities across Japan.

"This tournament provides the ideal environment for the development of our players, as they strive to one day make an impact with our senior national team," Olivieri told

Canada will face Argentina, Norway, and North Korea in the group phase of the 2012 U-20 Women's World Cup. Canada's first two matches on Monday, August 20 (Argentina) and Thursday, August 23 (Norway) are in Kobe, while Canada's third and final group match versus North Korea on Monday, August 27, is in Saitama. The top two teams from each of the four groups will qualify for the quarterfinals.

Canada qualified for Japan 2012 this past March after finishing as runners-up at the 2012 CONCACAF U-20 Women’s Championship in Panama. The current program features players born 1992 or earlier.

This year will mark Canada's fifth participation at a FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup. Canada were runners-up as hosts of the inaugural event in 2002 before being crowned CONCACAF U-20 women’s champions in 2004 and 2008. In 2014, Canada will host the next U-20 Women's World Cup for the second time in their history.

1- GK- Dayle Colpitts | USA / Virginia Tech
2- FB- Jade Kovacevic | CAN / Toronto Lady Lynx
3- FB- Mélissa Roy | CAN / Amiral de Québec
4- CB- Rachel Melhado | CAN / Toronto Lady Lynx
5- M- Sarah Robbins | CAN / Comètes de Laval
6- CB- Shelina Zadorsky | CAN / Toronto Lady Lynx
7- FB/M- Kylie Davis | CAN / Comètes de Laval
8- M- Danica Wu | CAN / Comètes de Laval
9- F- Christine Exeter | Unattached / sans club
10- LM- Christabel Oduro | CAN / Hamilton FC
11- F- Jenna Richardson | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC
12- CB /CM - Nicole Setterlund | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC
13- M- Caroline Beaulne | CAN / Longueuil U-18
14- CM- Constance de Chantal-Dumont | CAN / Comètes de Laval
15- D/M- Vanessa Legault-Cordisco | CAN / Comètes de Laval
16- LM- Jaclyn Sawicki | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC
17- F- Nkem Ezurike | CAN / Comètes de Laval
18- GK- Sabrina D’Angelo | CAN / Toronto Lady Lynx
19- F- Adriana Leon | CAN / Toronto Lady Lynx
20- CM- Catherine Charron-Delage | CAN / Comètes de Laval
21- GK- Geneviève Richard | CAN / Hamilton FC