Vancouver Whitecaps FC striker Camilo Sanvezzo claims 2013 MLS Golden Boot

VANCOUVER, BC Vancouver Whitecaps FC striker Camilo Sanvezzo fired home a hat-trick on Sunday to leapfrog Chicago Fire striker Mike Magee and Montreal Impact striker Marco Di Vaio and win the 2013 Budweiser Golden Boot.
Entering Sunday's match with Colorado Rapids, the Brazilian had 19 goals to his name and knew he needed to score to have any chance at the Boot. After Magee scored his 21st goal of the season in the Fire's loss to New York Red Bulls earlier in the day, Camilo knew he needed to score twice.
He scored three.
The hat-trick came in different ways. In the 44th minute, he converted a penalty kick. In the 74th, he pulled off a dazzling dribbling display before passing the ball past the goalkeeper for his second. And finally, in the 85th minute, he ran onto a ball over the top and fired a volley into the lower corner for his third goal of the night and 22nd of the season.
This was Camilo's first MLS hat-trick. The Brazilian had six two-goal games in MLS and received a league leading three Player of the Week honors. With 38 career goals in league play, he is Vancouver’s all-time leader in MLS regular season goals.
Counting his three goals in the Amway Canadian Championship, Camilo scored 25 goals in all competitions during the 2013 season.
While he scored some remarkable goals this year, his scissor-kick against Portland Timbers on October 6 makes him a strong contender for MLS Goal of the Year.
Top Goal Scorers in Each Season:
2013:  22 goals – Camilo Sanvezzo (Vancouver Whitecaps FC)
2012:  27 goals – Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)
2011:  16 goals – Dwayne De Rosario (D.C. United)
2010:  18 goals – Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)
2009:  17 goals – Jeff Cunningham (FC Dallas)
2008:  20 goals – Landon Donovan (Los Angeles Galaxy)
2007:  20 goals – Luciano Emilio (D.C. United)
2006:  16 goals – Jeff Cunningham (Real Salt Lake)
2005:  17 goals – Taylor Twellman (New England Revolution)
2004:  12 goals – Eddie Johnson (Dallas Burn); Brian Ching (San Jose Earthquakes)
2003:  15 goals – Carlos Ruiz (Los Angeles Galaxy); Taylor Twellman (New England Revolution)
2002:  24 goals – Carlos Ruiz (Los Angeles Galaxy)
2001:  19 goals – Alex Pineda Chacon (Miami Fusion)
2000:  26 goals – Mamadou Diallo (Tampa Bay Mutiny)
1999:  18 goals – Stern John (Columbus); Roy Lassiter (D.C. United); Jason Kreis (Dallas Burn)
1998:  26 goals – Stern John (Columbus Crew)
1997:  16 goals – Jaime Moreno (D.C. United)
1996:  27 goals – Roy Lassiter (Tampa Bay Mutiny)