Camilo's scissor kick crowned MLS Goal of the Year

VANCOUVER, BC – The people have spoken.

After over a month of fan voting from a field of 64 goals, it’s official: Camilo’s stunning scissor kick is the 2013 Major League Soccer Goal of the Year.

Watch Camilo's 2013 MLS Goal of the Year

There were 845 goals scored during the 2013 MLS regular season, many of the spectacular variety, but none more so than Camilo’s tally vs. Portland Timbers on October 6.

Camilo launched himself into the air, meeting Young-Pyo Lee’s cross to the top of the box, and struck the ball with a flying, scissor-kick volley inside the near post. The goal, Camilo’s second of the night, tied the game at two in the 78th minute.

The AT&T Goal of the Year was determined by an online and text fan vote, after 64 initial nominations for the award were eventually narrowed to four finalists. The final poll results for the four finalists:

Camilo Sanvezzo (VAN) vs. POR, 10/06 - 47.29%
Diego Valeri (POR) vs. NY, 3/03 - 30.05%
Juan Agudelo (NE) vs. CHI, 8/17 - 11.36%
Thierry Henry (NY) vs. MTL, 5/08 - 11.31%

CLICK HERE to watch Camilo’s 2013 AT&T Goal of the Year

Camilo becomes the first Vancouver Whitecaps FC player to win the league’s Goal of the Year competition, joining a list of distinguished winners including Marco Etcheverry, Landon Donovan, Dwayne De Rosario and Cuauhtémoc Blanco.

Winning the 2013 MLS Goal of the Year competition is yet another accolade in what was a memorable season for the ‘Caps striker.

Camilo etched his name into the club and league record books by scoring a league-high 22 goals in 2013 (plus three in the Amway Canadian Championship), becoming the first Whitecaps FC player to claim the MLS Golden Boot as the league’s top goalscorer.

If that wasn’t enough, the Brazilian was named MLS Player of the Week a league-high four times, in addition to being named MLS Player of the Month twice. The two-time Whitecaps FC BMO Player of the Year also made his first appearance at the MLS All-Star game, where he set up the league’s lone goal with a perfect free-kick delivery.

MLS Goal of the Year Winners
2013: Camilo Sanvezzo – Vancouver Whitecaps FC vs. Portland Timbers – October 6, 2013
2012: Patrick Ianni – Seattle Sounders FC vs. Sporting Kansas City – June 20, 2012
2011: Darlington Nagbe – Portland Timbers vs. Sporting Kansas City – July 2, 2011
2010: Marco Pappa – Chicago Fire vs. San Jose Earthquakes – April 10, 2010
2009: Landon Donovan – LA Galaxy vs. New England Revolution – August 8, 2009
2008: Will Johnson – Real Salt Lake vs. FC Dallas – October 18, 2008
2007: Cuauhtemoc Blanco – Chicago Fire vs. Real Salt Lake – August 18, 2007
2006: Brian Ching – Houston Dynamo vs. D.C. United – September 30, 2006
2005: Dwayne De Rosario – San Jose Earthquakes at LA Galaxy – October 15, 2005
2004: Dwayne De Rosario – San Jose Earthquakes vs. D.C. United – August 2, 2004
2003: Damani Ralph – Chicago Fire at Columbus Crew – August 13, 2003
2002: Carlos Ruiz – LA Galaxy vs. Columbus Crew – July 27, 2002
2001: Clint Mathis – MetroStars vs. Dallas Burn – April 28, 2001
2000: Marcelo Balboa – Colorado Rapids at Columbus Crew – April 22, 2000
1999: Marco Etcheverry – D.C. United at Miami Fusion – May 22, 1999
1998: Brian McBride – Columbus Crew vs. Chicago Fire – July 9, 1998
1997: Marco Etcheverry – D.C. United vs. New England Revolution – August 27, 1997
1996: Eric Wynalda – San Jose Earthquakes vs. D.C. United – April 6, 1996

Whitecaps FC 2014 season tickets start at just $349, subject to applicable fees. The 'Caps are also offering a flexible range of ticket products, including half-season tickets ($244), 5-packs ($149), student season tickets ($199), and a youth soccer half-season ticket ($100). For more information on all Whitecaps FC ticket options, call 604.669.9283 ext. 2 or visit