MLS logo
MLS logo

UPDATED: Five players selected in stage one of MLS Re-Entry Draft; Whitecaps FC pass with seventh pick

NEW YORK — Stage one of the MLS Re-Entry draft took place on Thursday afternoon and a total of five players were selected. 

D.C. United selected LA Galaxy defender Sean Franklin with the first pick, then followed that up by picking veteran Houston Dynamo center back Bobby Boswell with the 20th pick.

The biggest eyebrow-raiser was from Portland Timbers, who sent a giant shot across the bow of their archrivals by selecting Steve Zakuani with the second pick. Portland had acquired the No. 2 pick from Chivas USA in exchange for the No. 17 pick and defender Andrew Jean-Baptiste. The Goats also sent midfielder/defender Jorge Villafaña to the Timbers in the deal.

The only other players selected in Stage 1 were midfielder Corben Bone by Philadelphia with the sixth pick, then defender Marc Burch by Colorado with the 13th pick.

Meanwhile, Vancouver Whitecaps FC had the seventh overall pick, but opted to pass. Teams that selected players in Stage 1 of the Re-Entry Draft must either exercise those players' 2014 option or make them a bona fide offer.

Players that went unselected Thursday will be available for Stage 2, which will be held next Wednesday, December 18, at 12 p.m. PT via conference call. According to league rules, teams will have seven days to make a bona fide offer to the players they select in Stage 2 and if an agreement can't be reached, the club will hold the right of first refusal for that player in MLS.

Any players not picked up after Stage 2 become available to any MLS club on a first-come, first-served basis.

The order for both Re-Entry stages will follow the same order as the MLS Waiver Draft: reverse order of finish in 2013, factoring in playoff finish (CLICK HERE for the Re-Entry order).

Players must meet a number of qualifications to become eligible for the Re-Entry Process.

Click here for more information on the Re-Entry Draft process and rules on player eligibility.


Chicago Fire (8): M Corben Bone, D Shaun Francis, M Joel Lindpere, M Logan Pause, M Chris Rolfe, F Maicon Santos, M Wells Thompson*, M Michael Videira

Chivas USA (3): D Ante Jazic*, D Steve Purdy, M Josue Soto

Columbus Crew (2): M Danny O'Rourke, M Konrad Warzycha

Colorado Rapids (3): GK Steward Ceus, D Brian Mullan, M Jamie Smith

D.C. United (6): M Dwayne De Rosario, D James Riley, F Carlos Ruiz, M Marcelo Saragosa, M John Thorrington, D Daniel Woolard

FC Dallas (2): M David Ferreira, D Ugo Ihemelu

Houston Dynamo (4): D Bobby Boswell*, F Calen Carr*, M Alex Dixon, F Cam Weaver

LA Galaxy (4): M Colin Clark, M Laurent Courtois, D Sean Franklin, M Pablo Mastroeni* (retired)

Montreal Impact (1): M Sinisa Ubiparipovic

New England Revolution (4): F Chad Barrett, F Ryan Guy, M Clyde Simms, M Juan Toja

New York Red Bulls (4): D Brandon Barklage, F Fabian Espindola, GK Kevin Hartman, D Heath Pearce*

Philadelphia Union (1): D Chris Albright*

Portland Timbers (2): D David Horst, D Ryan Miller

Real Salt Lake (3): D Brandon McDonald, GK Josh Saunders, M Khari Stephenson

Seattle Sounders (3): D Marc Burch, M Blair Gavin, F Steve Zakuani*

San Jose Earthquakes (4): D Nana Attakora, M Mehdi Ballouchy*, D Dan Gargan, GK Evan Newton

Toronto FC (1): F Justin Braun*

Vancouver Whitecaps FC (2): GK Joe Cannon, F Corey Hertzog

NOTE: * indicates players out of contract. All other players had their options declined.