Christine Sinclair South Africa 2012 London Olympics
Quinn Rooney/Getty Images

Sinclair named 2013 BMO Canadian Player of the Year

Canada Soccer announced today that Christine Sinclair is the female selection for the 2013 BMO Canadian Player of the Year award. This is the 10th straight year Sinclair has won the award and 11th all time. 

The former Vancouver Whitecaps FC women's striker was honoured in a vote shared by Canadian media (50 per cent) and Canadian coaches and clubs (50 per cent). Runners up included Diana Matheson (second), Erin McLeod (third) and Desiree Scott (fourth). 

“BMO is proud to recognize players such as Christine Sinclair, whose impact on the landscape of Canadian soccer has proven to be outstanding and inspirational," said Justine Fedak, Senior Vice President, Brand Advertising, Sponsorships & Merchandising, BMO Financial Group. "The BMO Canadian Players of the Year Award serves to highlight exemplary performance at a professional level, attracting young athletes to the sport at the grassroots level. We congratulate Christine on her tremendous accomplishment."

In 2013, Sinclair led the Portland Thorns to the NWSL championship. She earned NWSL Player of the Month honours in April and scored eight goals in 20 matches.

Sinclair, 30, has now won professional championships in each of her three past league seasons: 2010 with FC Gold Pride, 2011 with Western New York Flash, and 2013 with Portland Thorns FC.

At the international level, Sinclair participated in her 14th season with Canada, most recently making her 200th career appearance on Thursday. She earned player of the match honours in a 3-0 win over Korea Republic in October.

Also in 2013, Sinclair was again a finalist for the FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year award. She was also honoured on Canada’s Walk of Fame. 


2013 – Will Johnson & Christine Sinclair
2012 – Atiba Hutchinson & Christine Sinclair
2011 – Dwayne De Rosario & Christine Sinclair
2010 – Atiba Hutchinson & Christine Sinclair

2009 - Simeon Jackson & Christine Sinclair

2008 – Julian de Guzman & Christine Sinclair

2007 – Dwayne De Rosario & Christine Sinclair

2006 – Dwayne De Rosario & Christine Sinclair

2005 – Dwayne De Rosario & Christine Sinclair
2004 – Paul Stalteri & Christine Sinclair
2003 – Pat Onstad & Charmaine Hooper
2002 – Jason deVos & Charmaine Hooper
2001 – Paul Stalteri & Andrea Neil
2000 – Craig Forrest & Christine Sinclair
1999 – Jim Brennan & Geraldine Donnelly
1998 - Tomasz Radzinski & Silvana Burtini
1997 – Mark Watson & Janine Helland
1996 - Paul Peschisolido & Geraldine Donnelly

1995 - Alex Bunbury & Charmaine Hooper

1994 - Craig Forrest & Charmaine Hooper

1993 - Alex Bunbury