Vote for the 2016 Whitecaps FC BMO Player of the Year!

Who has been Vancouver Whitecaps FC’s most valuable player in 2016?

You be the judge.

Voting is now open for the 2016 Whitecaps FC BMO Player of the Year award and will run until October 7. Members of the club’s technical/communications staff, as well as members of the media, determined the four names on the ballot.

Here are this year’s nominees (in alphabetical order):

Christian Bolaños (M)

Bolaños has been one of Vancouver’s most dangerous offensive weapons during his first season in MLS. His six assists are tied for the most on the team and his five goals are tied for the second most. The Costa Rican international, who has started 20 of his 24 MLS regular season appearances, also leads the team with 38 chances created. 

Jordan Harvey (D)

They call him Mr. Consistency – and Harvey has been just that in 2016. The 32-year-old left back has started all 24 of his MLS regular season appearances this season, accumulating the third most minutes on the team despite missing five matches due to injury. He’s tied for second on the team in tackles and third in interceptions, in addition to chipping in with a pair of goals.

Andrew Jacobson (M)

Jacobson, who has two goals on the season, has quietly been another one of Vancouver’s most consistent players. Not only has he been a steady presence in central midfield, Jacobson has also proved to be a reliable option at centre back. His versatility has certainly been an asset.

Nicolas Mezquida (M)

Mezquida, who often draws praise for his energy and desire, has three goals and an assist in 24 MLS regular season appearances this season. He also added two goals in the Amway Canadian Championship and started two of Vancouver’s three CONCACAF Champions League wins.

* All stats as of September 23.


2011: Camilo Sanvezzo
2012: Young–Pyo Lee
2013: Camilo Sanvezzo
2014: Pedro Morales
2015: Kendall Waston

Be a part of the best sporting atmosphere in Vancouver. Get 12 per cent off 2017 Whitecaps FC Full Season Tickets from Sept. 22 - Oct 3. Click here for more information.