Whitecaps FC 2, Orange County SC entertain in 2017 USL season finale barnburner

VANCOUVER, BC – Whitecaps FC 2 wrapped up their 2017 USL season at UBC Thunderbird Stadium on Friday evening with a thrilling back-and-forth affair, with Orange County SC emerging victorious, 4-3.

The match concludes WFC2’s third USL season, which saw the continued development of the club’s young prospects, including Friday evening’s scorers Myer Bevan, David Norman Jr., and Kadin Chung.

With Vancouver outshooting Orange County 18-8, the visiting side kept pace behind Irvin Parra’s two goals, before setting up the 85th-minute winner from substitute Kevin Jeon.

Whitecaps FC 2 opened the scoring in the 15th minute when Terran Campbell found Brett Levis out wide, who then played a lovely cross into Bevan who angled his header back across the grain, finding the back of the Orange County net. The goal capped off a 10-pass sequence by the ‘Caps.

After Parra answered in the 41st minute, Norman got his first professional goal to close out the half, with a left-footed bender from distance for the 2-1 halftime lead.

The second half whistle brought more goal scoring when in the 62nd minute, Marco Bustos took a fantastic turn, hit a strike from distance, and the ball was spilled by OCSC goalkeeper Charlie Lyon. Johnny-on-the-spot Kadin Chung was there to put away the garbage to put WFC2 ahead 3-1.

This set up the comeback finish from Orange County, beginning with Zach Kobayashi’s goal a minute later. Parra’s second goal on the evening came in the 76th minute, before setting up Jeon's winner in the final moments.

With the result, WFC2 finish with a 5W-18L-9D record, while OCSC end their season at 11W-11L-10D.

Whitecaps FC host their 2017 MLS regular season finale on Sunday afternoon when they face San Jose Earthquakes. Tickets for Sunday’s match, as well as for the Audi 2017 MLS Cup Playoffs at BC Place, are available for purchase at ticketmaster.ca/whitecapsfc.


Referee: Darnell Smith
Attendance: 618

Scoring Summary
15’ – VAN – Myer Bevan (Brett Levis)
41’ – OC  – Irvin Parra (Zach Kobayashi)
43’ – VAN  – David Norman Jr. (Terran Campbell)
62’ – VAN – Kadin Chung
63’ – OC  – Zach Kobayashi
76’ – OC  – Irvin Parra
85’ – OC – Kevin Jeon (Irvin Parra)

Possession: VAN 50.5% – OC 49.5%
Shots: VAN 18 – OC 8
Shots on Goal: VAN 8 – OC 4
Saves: VAN 0 – OC 5
Fouls: VAN 12 – OC 10
Offsides: VAN 0 – OC 2
Corners: VAN 0 – OC 1

78’ – OC – Ami Pineda
82’ – VAN – David Norman Jr.
90’+1’ – VAN – Matthew Baldisimo

Whitecaps FC 2
40.Sean Melvin; 63.Kadin Chung, 14.Cole Seiler, 33.Francis de Vries, 46.Brett Levis (54.Gloire Amanda 63‘); 66.Michael Baldisimo (65.Matthew Baldisimo 70’), 42.David Norman Jr.; 55.Chris Serban, 32.Marco Bustos ©, 61.Terran Campbell (57.Thomas Sanner 74’); 45.Myer Bevan

Substitutes not used
53.Mark Village, 41.Dominick Zator, 51.Danny Barbir, 64.Thomas Gardner

Orange County SC
1.Charlie Lyon; 19.Wuilito Fernandes, 2.Oscar Sorto (22.Kevin Jeon 68‘), 30.Walker Hume, 13.Juan Pablo Ocegueda; 28.Frank Olijve ©, 6.Victor Pineda (16.Ami Pineda 73’), 44.James Baxendale; 11.Jerry van Ewijk (14.Dusan Stevanovic 68‘), 38.Irvin Parra, 23.Zach Kobayashi

Substitutes not used
25.Casey Beyers, 12.Sola Abolaji, 18.Duke Lacroix