WFC2 claim dominant 5-2 victory over MNUFC2 at Swangard


BURNABY, BC – Whitecaps FC 2 claimed their third win of the season with a dominant 5-2 victory against Western Conference foes MNUFC2 on Sunday night at Swangard Stadium in Burnaby, BC.

The first half began with MNUFC2 scoring the opening goal of the match in the 16th minute. Following a corner kick, Patrick Weah’s left footed strike found the back of the net to make it 1-0.

Shortly after, the young 'Caps found their equalizer. Déiber Caicedo played the ball out wide to J.C. Ngando, who put a first-time cross into the area for Levonte Johnson to put home his second goal of the season and tying the match at 1-1.

The Blue & White got a corner kick opportunity of their own in the 38th minute of the match. The ball would find its way to Lucas Dasovic, as the defender volleyed the ball home to give his squad a 2-1 lead.

Right before the half time interval, Loons forward Diogo Pachedo scored off a deflected direct free kick attempt in stoppage time to even the match.

In the 51st minute, WFC2 were awarded a penalty kick after Elage Bah was taken down inside the box. Caicedo stepped up and converted from the spot to give the home team a 3-2 advantage.

As the second half progressed, Caicedo sent a cross into Johnson. His first touch control inside the box led to the forward putting away a tidy finish to make it 4-2 for the young 'Caps in the 70th minute.

Fast forward to the 84th minute, Giovanni Aguilar played in a long through ball into the attacking half, which found Jay Herdman. The New Zealand youth international dribbled towards the MNUFC2 backline and unleashed a strike from distance that found the bottom corner to give WFC2 a 5-2 victory on the night.

The young ‘Caps are back on the road as they face St. Louis CITY2 next Sunday, April 30, with kickoff from CITYPARK in St. Louis, Missouri set for 3 p.m. PT. You can catch the match live on MLS Season Pass on Apple TV.

Following the tilt, the team returns to Swangard Stadium as they host Houston Dynamo 2 on Sunday, May 7, with kickoff set for 6 p.m. PT. Tickets are complimentary for Whitecaps FC MLS season ticket members, or $10 at the gate.

- Levonte Johnson scored his second and third goals of the season, putting him in a tie with Kamron Habibullah for the team-lead in goals
- First team players Isaac Boehmer, Déiber Caicedo, J.C. Ngando, and Karifa Yao all started the match. Boehmer and Yao played the full 90 minutes. Caicedo, who recovered from a meniscus tear in his right knee earlier this season, made his first WFC2 start and recorded the game-winning goal as well as an assist. Ngando recorded his first professional assist on Johnson's first goal of the match in the 24th minute
- Lucas Dasovic scored his first professional goal in the 38th minute
- Christian Greco-Taylor made his first MLS NEXT Pro start
- Whitecaps FC BMO MLS Academy fullback Adoni Thomas made his first professional appearance and WFC2 debut, entering the match as a substitute in the 90th minute
- Whitecaps FC BMO MLS Academy midfielder Jeevan Badwal made his second appearance for WFC2 this season
- With Sunday's win, the young 'Caps moved up to third in MLS NEXT Pro's Western Conference standings. The team also leads the league in goals scored with 15


Referee: Mo Mohensi

Scoring Summary
16’ – MIN – Patrick Weah
24’ – VAN – Levonte Johnston (J.C. Ngando)
38’ – VAN – Lucas Dasovic
45’+2’ – MIN – Diogo Pachedo
51’ – VAN – Déiber Caicedo (penalty kick)
70’ – VAN – Levonte Johnson (Déiber Caicedo)
84’ – VAN – Jay Herdman (Giovanni Aguilar)

Possession: VAN 48.6% – MIN 51.4%
Shots: VAN 17 – MIN 17
Shots on Goal: VAN 9 – MIN 6
Saves: VAN 4 – MIN 4
Fouls: VAN 18 – MIN 9
Offsides: VAN 1 – MIN 1
Corners: VAN 7 – MIN 4

35’ – MIN – Rory O'Driscoll
64’ – VAN – Karifa Yao
75’ – VAN – Gio Aguilar
78’ – VAN – Vasco Fry

Whitecaps FC 2
32.Isaac Boehmer; 57.Elage Bah (58.Amoni Thomas 90’), 12.Karifa Yao, 56.Lucas Dasovic, 84.Christian Greco-Taylor; 26.J.C. Ngando (41.Malcolm Johnston 90’), 52.Vasco Fry, 66.Giovanni Aguilar © (59.Jeevan Badwal 90’); 28.Levonte Johnson (92.Jay Herdman 79’), 76.Joe Hanson, 7.Déiber Caicedo (43.Antoine Coupland 74’)

Substitutes not used
50.Max Anchor, 53.Simone Masi, 85.Sydney Wathuta, 95.Joshué Ndakala

99.Fred Emmings; 54.Carlos Leatherman, 89.Nick Richardson, 30.CC Uche, 46.Juan Mosquera; 34.Zaydan Bello (65.Kage Romanshyn 69’), 43.Rory O'Driscoll, 32.Molik Khan; 70.Diogo Pachedo ©, 29.Patrick Weah (64.Cooper Lijewski 89’), 67.Loïc Mesanvi (66.Morgan Olson 90’)

Substitutes not used
36.Will Pulisic, 60.Thomas Kniser, 66.Morgan Olson