Ryan Gauld named captain of Whitecaps FC


VANCOUVER, BC – Leading the way.

Ryan Gauld was officially named captain of Vancouver Whitecaps FC on Friday in a presentation at the club’s 2024 Season Launch Party at the Vancouver Convention Centre. As part of the presentation, Gauld was joined on stage by former captains Sam Lenarduzzi (1974-75), John Catliff (1988-93), and Steve Macdonald (1996-98).

Gauld becomes the 25th player to be named club captain since 1974. For the complete list of both men’s and women’s club captains, as well as additional club history, visit whitecapsfc50.com.

“To wear the captain’s armband is a huge honour, especially for a club with such a great history,” said Gauld. “I’m going to continue to give everything I have for this club, and I know that everyone else will be doing the same. It’s a great group of boys on this team and we’re excited to push forward to help make everyone in the city proud.”

Since joining Vancouver mid-way through the 2021 season, Gauld has helped the ‘Caps win consecutive Canadian Championships and reach the MLS Cup Playoffs twice. The Scotsman also sits as the club’s leader in assists during the MLS era with 34, won the club’s Player of the Year award in back-to-back seasons, and was the recipient of the George Gross Memorial Trophy for being the most valuable player of the 2022 Canadian Championship.

Gauld is joined on the ’Caps leadership group by centre back Ranko Veselinović, forward Brian White, defensive midfielder Andrés Cubas, midfielder Sebastian Berhalter and forward Damir Kreilach.

“We have a fantastic group of players on this team, and we have a group of emerging leaders who will play a big role in keeping our squad heading in the right direction,” said Vanni Sartini, Whitecaps FC head coach. “Together, we are looking forward to more big moments ahead to share with our supporters.”

The Whitecaps FC MLS season opener, presented by TELUS, is one week away on Saturday, March 2 when they host Eastern Conference side Charlotte FC at BC Place. Kickoff will be at 4:30 p.m. PT, the upper bowl will be open, and more than 25,000 tickets have already been sold. For ticket information, visit whitecapsfc.com/tickets.

Fifty Together
Celebrate the club’s 50th anniversary, presented by BMO, Chevrolet, and MNP, all season long. Learn more about the club’s storied history at whitecapsfc50.com.

Vancouver Whitecaps FC / Vancouver 86ers
All-Time Captains

1974 - Billy Stevenson / Sam Lenarduzzi
1975 - Sam Lenarduzzi
1976 - Bruce Wilson
1977 - Bruce Wilson
1978 - Jon Sammels
1979 - John Craven
1980 - Alan Ball / John Craven
1981 - Terry Yorath
1982 - Terry Yorath
1983 - Peter Lorimer
1984 - Bob Lenarduzzi
1987 - Shaun Lowther
1988 - John Catliff
1989 - John Catliff
1990 - John Catliff
1991 - John Catliff
1992 - John Catliff
1993 - John Catliff
1994 - Rick Celebrini
1995 - Rick Celebrini
1996 - Steve Macdonald
1997 - Steve Macdonald
1998 - Steve Macdonald
1999 - Paul Dailly
2000 - Paul Dailly
2001 - Kevin Holness
2002 - Paul Dailly
2003 - Paul Dailly
2004 - Alfredo Valente
2005 - Jeff Clarke
2006 - Jeff Clarke
2007 - Jeff Clarke
2008 - Adrian Cann / Jeff Clarke
2009 - Martin Nash
2010 - Martin Nash
2011 - Jay DeMerit
2012 - Jay DeMerit
2013 - Jay DeMerit
2014 - Jay DeMerit / Pedro Morales
2015 - Pedro Morales
2016 - Pedro Morales
2017 - Kendall Waston
2018 - Kendall Waston
2019 - Jon Erice
2020 - Russell Teibert
2021 - Russell Teibert
2022 - Russell Teibert
2023 - Russell Teibert
2024 - Ryan Gauld