23-man rosters announced for Champions League semifinal first leg

Celebration San Jose 2017

MONTERREY, MEXICO – The rosters are in for Tuesday’s historic first leg of the CONCACAF Champions League semifinals (7 p.m. PT).

Tigres UANL and Vancouver Whitecaps FC have submitted their 23-man squads ahead of the opening match at Estadio Universitario in San Nicolás de los Garza, in the Monterrey metropolitan area. Tickets for the second leg at BC Place on April 5 are available at

Russell Teibert is suspended for the first leg due to caution accumulation, picking up his second yellow card of the tournament in the quarterfinal second leg victory over New York Red Bulls. Mauro Rosales is not eligible to participate in the competition for Whitecaps FC as he is cup-tied after appearing for FC Dallas in the group stages.  

Both teams will select 18 players from the rosters below for their matchday squads.


Goalkeepers (3): Aarón Fernández, Nahuel Guzman, Enrique Palos

Defenders (10): Alberto Acosta, Luis Advíncula, Hugo Ayala, Jair Diaz, Jorge Estrada, Juninho, Francisco Meza, José Rivas, Luis Rodríguez, Jorge Torres Nilo

Midfielders (7): Jürgen Damm, Jesús Dueñas, Jonathan Espericueta, Luis Quiñones, Guido Pizarro, José Fransisco Torres, Lucas Zelarayán

Forwards (3): André-Pierre Gignac, Ismael Sosa, Eduardo Vargas


Goalkeepers (3): David Ousted, Paolo Tornaghi, Spencer Richey

Defenders (8): Christian Dean, Marcel de Jong, Jordan Harvey, Jake Nerwinski, Tim Parker, Cole Seiler, Kendall Waston, Sheanon Williams

Midfielders (8): Christian Bolaños, Alphonso Davies, Andrew Jacobson, Matias Laba, Ben McKendry, Nicolas Mezquida, Brek Shea, Cristian Techera

Forwards (4): Kyle Greig, Erik Hurtado, Kekuta Manneh, Fredy Montero

23-man rosters announced for Champions League semifinal first leg -