Canadian National Teams

Canada U-20 WNT: Four 'Caps called up for Concacaf qualifying

Canada U-20 WNT call-ups

Four Whitecaps FC players have been called up to Canada's U-20 women's national team for the upcoming 2023 Concacaf Women’s U-20 Qualifiers for the FIFA U-20 World Cup. The Whitecaps FC Girls Elite program is in partnership with BC Soccer, and is a Canada Soccer National Development Centre (NDC).

Players who were called up include fullback Mya Archibald, centre back Clare Logan, midfielder Jeneva Hernandez-Gray, and forward Jaime Perrault.

Canada Soccer have announced a 23-player roster for their pre-tournament camp in the Dominican Republic ahead of the 2023 Concacaf Women’s U-20 Qualifiers. The pre-tournament camp will lead straight into the competition which will also take place in the Dominican Republic. Canada’s opening match will take place on April 14 in San Cristobal at the Estadio Panamericano against group opponents Martinique.

"I’m excited to get this group together for the first time and assess them in a tournament setting." said Cindy Tye, Canada Soccer's Women's U-20 head coach. "We will have to grow and adapt throughout the tournament given that we won’t have the chance to really embed anything prior to competing. There’s some fantastic talent and I’m excited to get going."

Accompanying Canada in Group A are El Salvador, Cuba, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines and Martinique. The group winner will advance to the 2023 Concacaf Women’s U-20 Championship, scheduled to take place from May 24 to June 3 in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic. After their opening match against Martinique on Friday, April 14, Canada will face St. Vincent and the Grenadines on Sunday, April 16, Cuba on Thursday,  April 20, and El Salvador on Saturday, April 22, with all four group matches taking place San Cristobal.

The Concacaf Women’s U-20 Qualifiers is split with six groups of 32 nations, where each group winner will see themselves advance to the 2023 Concacaf Women’s U-20 Championship from May 24 to June 3. Players in both competitions are all born in 2003 or later, with each Concacaf nation selecting 23 players for the Concacaf Women’s U-20 Qualifiers.  

GK- Faith Fenwick | CAN / NDC-CDN Ontario
GK- Noelle Henning | CAN / NDC-CDN Ontario
GK- Coralie Lallier | USA / University of Alabama 
CB- Clare Logan | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC / NDC-CDN British Columbia
CB- Zoe Markesini | CAN / NDC-CDN Ontario
CB- Sophie Murdock | USA / Mountain View Los Altos SC
FB- Mya Archibald | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC / NDC-CDN British Columbia
FB- Jadea Collin | CAN / NDC Ontario
FB- Ella Ottey | CAN / NDC-CDN Ontario
FB- Renee Watson | CAN / NDC-CDN Ontario
M- Jeneva Hernandez Gray | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC / NDC-CDN British Columbia
M- Thaea Mouratidis | CAN / Providence College
M- Olivia Smith | USA / Pennsylvania State University
F- Amanda Allen | USA / Orlando Pride
F- Kayla Briggs | CAN / NDC-CDN Ontario
F- Annabelle Chukwu | CAN / NDC-CDN Ontario
F- Florianne Jourde | CAN / NDC-CDN Québec
F- Rosa Maalouf | CAN / NDC-CDN Ontario
F- Ella McBride | USA / Providence College 
F- Jaime Perrault | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC / NDC-CDN British Columbia
F- Nyah Rose | CAN / NDC-CDN Ontario