Girls Elite

Canada U-20 WNT: Four 'Caps called back up for 2023 Concacaf Women's U-20 Championship starting May 24

Canada U-20 WNT call-ups

Canada Soccer has announced today their 21-player squad for the upcoming 2023 Concacaf Women’s U-20 Championship that will be played in the Dominican Republic from May 24 to June 3, 2023.

All four Whitecaps FC players named for the tournament were also part of Canada's roster for the Concacaf qualifiers in April, including fullback Mya Archibald, centre back Clare Logan, midfielder Jeneva Hernandez-Gray, and forward Jaime Perrault.

Canada, led by head coach Cindy Tye, has been drawn into Group A with the United States, Jamaica, and Panama for the Group Stage of the competition. This will mark Canada’s tenth appearance in the competition, having lifted the trophy twice in program history in 2004 and 2008. 

"This competition gives our young players an important opportunity to compete in international matches," said Cindy Tye, Canada Soccer's Women's U-20 head coach. "It allows us to build on our Canadian identity while being faced with different styles of play throughout the tournament. We are excited to get started! "

In the group phase, Canada will face Jamaica on Wednesday, May 24 (1:00 p.m. PT), Panama on Friday, May 26 (15.00 local / 12:00 p.m. PT), and the USA on Sunday, May 28 (3:00 p.m. PT). The top-two nations in Canada’s group will advance to the semifinals on Thursday, June 1 to face either Mexico, Costa Rica, Puerto Rico, or Dominican Republic. The finals are scheduled for Saturday, June 3 with the two finalists and the third-place match winner qualifying for the 2024 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup™.

Group A – United States, Canada, Jamaica, Panama
Group B – Mexico, Costa Rica, Puerto Rico, Dominican Republic

Canada’s matches will be broadcast live on OneSoccer, available as a linear channel on Telus Optik TV (Channel 980) and on streaming service fuboTV Canada, as well as online at, via Roku, Chromecast and Apple TV devices and through the OneSoccer app for iOS and Android devices. Throughout the competition, fans will find extended coverage across Canada Soccer’s digital channels on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube featuring the hashtag #canw20. 

From nine previous editions of the Concacaf Women’s Under-20 Championship, Canada have posted a record of 35 wins, three draws and nine losses, finishing first in 2004 and 2008, second in 2006, 2012 and 2015, and third in 2022. Of the 162 players that represented Canada at those previous editions, 79 have played for Canada Soccer’s Women’s National Team including current players Desiree Scott (2006), Sophie Schmidt (2006, 2008), Allysha Chapman (2008), Adrianna Leon (2010), Shelina Zadorsky (2010,2012), Sabrina D'Angelo (2012), Bianca St-Georges (2015), Sura Yekka (2015), Julia Grosso (2018), Jordyn Huitema (2018), Jayde Riviere (2018), Jade Rose (2020), and Simi Awujo (2022).

The Concacaf Women’s Under-20 Championship provides an important development step towards future Concacaf and FIFA youth competitions and more importantly a step towards competing at the international level for Canada Soccer’s Women’s National Team at Concacaf, FIFA and Olympic tournaments.

Players in the competitions are all born in 2004 or later, with each Concacaf nation selecting players for the Concacaf Women’s U-20 Championship.
GK- Faith Fenwick | CAN / NDC-CDN Ontario
GK- Noelle Henning | CAN / NDC-CDN Ontario
GK- Coralie Lallier | USA / University of Alabama 
CB- Clare Logan | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC / NDC-CDN British Columbia
CB- Zoe Markesini | CAN / NDC-CDN Ontario
CB- Sophie Murdock | USA / Mountain View Los Altos SC
FB- Mya Archibald | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC / NDC-CDN British Columbia
FB- Jadea Collin | CAN / NDC Ontario
FB- Ella Ottey | CAN / NDC-CDN Ontario
FB- Renee Watson | CAN / NDC-CDN Ontario
M- Jeneva Hernandez Gray | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC / NDC-CDN British Columbia
M- Thaea Mouratidis | CAN / Providence College
M- Kayla Briggs | CAN / NDC-CDN Ontario
M- Florianne Jourde | CAN / NDC-CDN Québec
M- Ella McBride | USA / Providence College 
F- Olivia Smith | USA / Pennsylvania State University
F- Amanda Allen | USA / Orlando Pride
F- Annabelle Chukwu | CAN / NDC-CDN Ontario
F- Rosa Maalouf | CAN / NDC-CDN Ontario
F- Jaime Perrault | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC / NDC-CDN British Columbia
F- Nyah Rose | CAN / NDC-CDN Ontario