'Caps celebrate Pride Night with proud performance

VANCOUVER, BC - Vancouver Whitecaps (8W-9L-5D) celebrated Pride Night with a proud performance at BC Place as they defeated Minnesota United FC (9W-12L-1D) by a 4-2 score line. 

Alphonso Davies dazzled with his first career brace, while also registering two assists on the night. Yordy Reyna score a brilliant individual goal of his own, while second-half substitute Kei Kamara notched his team-leading ninth goal in MLS play. Davies now has five goals and 10 assists in MLS play, while Reyna registered his fourth goal, as well as his fourth and fifth assist on the season.

Minnesota scored two late goals through Ibson and Abu Danladi. Both goals were assisted by their star-man Darwin Quintero.

The 'Caps opened the scoring after a moment of individual brilliance from Reyna. After receiving a pass from Davies, the Peruvian dribbled past a number of Minnesota defenders before firing a low shot into the far corner of the net.

Vancouver started the second half the way they ended the first and that was on the front foot. They doubled their lead after another moment of individual brilliance, but this time by Davies. Anthony Blondell found Davies, who danced his way past Minnesota’s defence and into the box before firing a shot past goalkeeper Bobby Shuttleworth.

It didn’t take long for the ‘Caps to pad on their lead further. This time after a terrific counterattack that saw Reyna pick out Davies, who dribbled towards goal before finding Kamara. The striker made no mistake with his finish to make it 3-0.

The visiting side scored on 82 minutes from a corner kick. Quintero crossed the ball towards the near post where Ibson’s glancing header beat Stefan Marinović to make it 3-1. Shortly after, the visitors scored again after Quintero picked out Danladi who had an easy tap in.

There was a bit of tension in the match after the visitors made it 3-2, but Davies stole the show once again with another great goal. The Canadian international picked up the ball outside the box before dribbling his way into the penalty area and firing a shot into the back of the net to secure all three points for the ‘Caps.

Vancouver now head out to the road with a visit to New York City FC on Saturday, August 4. Kickoff is at 5 p.m. live on TSN2. The 'Caps are back home on Wednesday, August 8 when they host Toronto FC in the first leg of the Canadian Championship final at BC Place. Visit whitecapsfc.com for ticket information.


For every 'Caps corner kick at home, McMillan donates $100 to the United Way. An additional $500 is donated for every goal scored off a corner kick. This match McMillan Corners for Kids has donated $300 for a running total of $5,500.

Budweiser Man of the Match: Yordy Reyna
Referee: David Gantar
Attendance: 20,831

Scoring Summary
35’ – VAN – Yordy Reyna (Alphonso Davies)
56’ – VAN – Alphonso Davies (Anthony Blondell)
64’ – VAN – Kei Kamara (Alphonso Davies, Yordy Reyna)
82’ – MIN – Ibson (Darwin Quintero)
87’ – MIN – Abu Danladi (Darwin Quintero)
89’ – VAN – Alphonso Davies (Yordy Reyna)

39’ – MIN – Michael Boxall
50’ – MIN – Eric Miller
72’ – VAN – Kendall Waston

Possession: VAN 38.4% – MIN 61.6%
Shots: VAN 13 – MIN 13
Shots on Goal: VAN 6 – MIN 5
Saves: VAN 3 – MIN 1
Fouls: VAN 5 – MIN 14
Offsides: VAN 2 – MIN 1
Corners: VAN 3 – MIN 8
Duels won: VAN 61 – MIN 54
Tackles won: VAN 14 – MIN 18 

Vancouver Whitecaps FC
1.Stefan Marinović; 28.Jake Nerwinski, 4.Kendall Waston ©, 2.Doneil Henry, 17.Marcel de Jong; 13.Cristian Techera (20.Brek Shea 77’), 66.Aly Ghazal (8.Felipe 45’+2), 31.Russell Teibert, 67.Alphonso Davies; 29.Yordy Reyna; 9.Anthony Blondell (23.Kei Kamara 63’)

Substitutes not used
12.Brian Rowe, 3.Sean Franklin, 11.Nicolás Mezquida, 18.Jose Aja 

Minnesota United FC
33.Bobby Shuttleworth; 10.Miguel Ibarra, 15.Michael Boxall, 14.Brent Kallman, 5.Francisco Calvo ©, 30.Eric Miller (11.Romario Ibarra 67’), 7.Ibson, 26.Collen Warner (17.Collin Martin 82’), 20.Rasmus Schüller; 25.Darwin Quintero, 21.Christian Ramirez (9.Abu Danladi 68’)

Substitutes not used
28.Matthew Lampson, 31.Maximiniano, 32.Alexi Gómez, 22.Wyatt Omsberg