Montero, Harvey training

VANCOUVER, BC – The rosters are in.

Vancouver Whitecaps FC and New York Red Bulls have submitted their 23-man rosters ahead of Thursday’s CONCACAF Champions League quarterfinal at BC Place (7 p.m. PT – tickets still available). A win or scoreless draw would send Vancouver to the semifinals for the first time in club history, while a 1-1 draw would result in extra time and a penalty shootout if needed.   

Carl Robinson’s roster, which only includes 22 players due to injuries and suspensions to Erik Hurtado and Cristian Techera, features new Designated Player striker Fredy Montero and recently-acquired U.S. international Brek Shea.

Mauro Rosales, on the other hand, is not eligible to participate in the competition for Whitecaps FC after appearing for FC Dallas in the group stages.  

Both teams will select 18 players from the rosters below for their matchday squads.


Goalkeepers (2): David Ousted, Paolo Tornaghi

Defenders (8): Christian Dean, Marcel de Jong, Jordan Harvey, Jake Nerwinski, Tim Parker, Cole Seiler, Kendall Waston, Sheanon Williams

Midfielders (9): Christian Bolaños, Marco Bustos, Alphonso Davies, Andrew Jacobson, Matias Laba, Ben McKendry, Nicolas Mezquida, Brek Shea, Russell Teibert

Forwards (3): Kyle Greig, Kekuta Manneh, Fredy Montero


Goalkeepers (3): Evan Louro, Ryan Meara, Luis Robles,

Defenders (8): Justin Bilyeu, Aurelien Collin, Kemar Lawrence, Aaron Long, Michael Murillo, Hassan Ndam, Damien Perrinelle, Sal Zizzo

Midfielders (9): Sean Davis, Derrick Etienne, Felipe, Mike Grella, Sacha Kljestan, Dan Metzger, Alex Muyl, Florian Valot, Daniel Royer

Forwards (3): Brandon Allen, Gonzalo Veron, Bradley Wright-Phillips

'Caps, Red Bulls name 23-man rosters ahead of Thursday's Champions League quarterfinal at BC Place -