Concacaf Champions Cup draw this Wednesday, December 13 at 4 p.m. PT

CCC trophy

Concacaf confirms 2024 Concacaf Champions Cup pre-seeded clubs and draw pots

  • 27 of the region's best clubs have qualified for a revamped 2024 Concacaf Champions Cup.
  • Pre-seeded clubs and pots were determined based on the new Concacaf Club Rankings.
  • Draw is set for Wednesday, December 13, 2023, at 4:00 pm PT. 

Miami, FL – Concacaf has confirmed important details about the 2024 Concacaf Champions Cup, including the eight clubs that will be pre-seeded in the competition's first two rounds and the pots for the official draw. 

The 59th edition of the Concacaf Champions Cup, the region's premier men's club competition, will be played between February and June 2024. The annual tournament, comprised of five direct elimination rounds and the best clubs from North America, Central America, and the Caribbean, crowns the Confederation's club champion and is the sole qualification route for the region's clubs to the new and expanded FIFA Club World Cup.

The competition's first four rounds (Round One, Round of 16, Quarterfinals, and Semifinals), all include home and away play, while the Final is played as a single-leg match.

The 2024 Concacaf Champions Cup Official Draw, which will determine the matchups for the competition's first two rounds and each club's path to be crowned continental champions, is scheduled for Wednesday, December 13, 2023, at 4:00 pm PT. 

Fans can follow and enjoy the live made-for-tv draw through the Confederation's TV partner networks, including FOX Sports | Tubi (USA-English), TUDN | ViX (USA-Spanish), Fox Sports Mexico (Mexico-Spanish), ESPN | Star+ (Central America, Caribbean, and South America), and live updates across Concacaf's Social Media platforms, including Facebook, Instagram, and X.

Participating Teams

27 clubs have qualified via three new regional cups in North America, Central America, and the Caribbean, as well as domestic leagues and cups for Canada, Mexico, and the United States. These clubs are, in alphabetical order per tournament (further details are available here): 

  • Canadian Championship (1): Vancouver Whitecaps FC (CAN)
  • Canadian Premier League (2): Cavalry FC (CAN) and Forge FC (CAN)
  • Concacaf Caribbean Cup (3): Cavalier FC (JAM), Moca FC (DOM), and SV Robinhood (SUR)
  • Concacaf Central American Cup (6): CA Independiente (PAN), Comunicaciones FC (GUA), CS Herediano (CRC), Deportivo Saprissa (CRC), LD Alajuelense (CRC), and Real Estelí FC (NCA)
  • Leagues Cup (3): Inter Miami CF (USA), Nashville SC (USA) and Philadelphia Union (USA)
  • Liga MX (6): CD Guadalajara (MEX), CF Monterrey (MEX), CF Pachuca (MEX), Club América (MEX), Deportivo Toluca (MEX), and Tigres UANL (MEX)
  • MLS (5): Columbus Crew (USA), FC Cincinnati (USA), New England Revolution (USA), Orlando City SC (USA), and St. Louis CITY SC (USA)
  • US Open Cup (1): Houston Dynamo FC (USA)

Of the 27 clubs, 22 begin play in Round One, and five have received a bye to the Round of 16. These five clubs are the champions of the three Concacaf-sanctioned regional cup competitions and the champions of the **top two ranked men's leagues in the region**

  • LD Alajuelense - 2023 Concacaf Central American Cup champion
  • SV Robinhood - 2023 Concacaf Caribbean Cup champion
  • Inter Miami CF - 2023 Leagues Cup champion
  • CF Pachuca - 2022/23 Liga MX champion with the most accumulated points
  • Columbus Crew - 2023 MLS Cup champions

Competition Bracket

As previously announced, the 2024 Concacaf Champions Cup bracket has been designed to provide the fairest balance to all competing clubs while rewarding competitive merit and strength. 

The three highest-ranked Round One clubs have been pre-seeded in a Round One bracket position as follows:

  • Club America (highest-ranked) - Matchup 3 (A3)
  • CF Monterrey (second highest-ranked) - Matchup 9 (A9)
  • Tigres UANL (third highest-ranked) - Matchup 7 (A7)

The five clubs that received a bye to the Round of 16 have been pre-seeded in a Round of 16 bracket position as follows:

  • CF Pachuca (highest-ranked) - R16 Matchup 1
  • Columbus Crew (second highest-ranked) - R16 Matchup 5
  • Inter Miami CF (third highest-ranked) - R16 Matchup 8
  • LD Alajuelense (fourth highest-ranked) - R16 Matchup 4
  • SV Robinhood (fifth highest-ranked) - R16 Matchup 2

Draw Pots

The 2024 Concacaf Champions Cup draw will be conducted using a double-blind system involving two "Club Pots" (Pots 1 and 2) and two "Bracket Position Pots" (Pots A and B). Pots 1 and 2 will contain the spheres with the names of the non-seeded Round One clubs, and Pots A and B the spheres with the available Round One bracket positions (excludes those occupied by the three pre-seeded clubs). 

Based on the **Concacaf Club Rankings**, the 19 non-seeded Round One clubs will be divided into Pots 1 and 2 as follows (listed in ranking order per pot):

  • Pot 1 (8 best-ranked non-seeded clubs): Philadelphia Union, Deportivo Toluca, CD Guadalajara, Orlando City SC, Nashville SC, FC Cincinnati, New England Revolution, and Houston Dynamo FC.
  • Pot 2 (11 lowest-ranked non-seeded clubs): Vancouver Whitecaps FC, Deportivo Saprissa, St. Louis CITY SC, CS Herediano, Comunicaciones FC, CA Independiente, Cavalry FC, Forge FC, Real Estelí FC, Moca FC and Cavalier FC. 

The 19 available Round One bracket positions will be divided into Pots A and B as follows:

  • Pot A (8 bracket positions): A1, A2, A4, A5, A6, A8, A10, and A11
  • Pot B (11 bracket positions): B1, B2, B3, B4, B5, B6, B7, B8, B9, B10, and B11

Draw Procedures

The draw will begin by drawing a sphere from Pot 1, followed by a sphere from Pot A, to determine the club's bracket position. This procedure will be repeated for the remaining seven spheres in Pot 1, always using the available bracket positions in Pot A.

After all the spheres from Pot 1 and Pot A have been drawn, the draw for clubs in Pot 2 will begin. Similarly, a sphere from Pot 2 will be drawn, followed by a sphere from Pot B to determine the club's bracket position. 

The draw will conclude once all spheres have been drawn and all clubs have been assigned a bracket position.

Competition Schedule

The 2024 Concacaf Champions Cup Round One will be played in February, followed by the Round of 16 in March, the Quarterfinals and Semifinals in April, and the single-leg Final on Sunday, June 2.

  • Round One: February 6-8 (Week 1), 13-15 (Week 2), 20-22 (Week 3) and 27-29 (Week 4)
  • Round of 16: March 5-7 (First Legs) and 12-14 (Second Legs)
  • Quarterfinals: April 2-4 (First Legs) and 9-11 (Second Legs)
  • Semifinals: April 23-25 (First Legs) and April 30 - May 2 (Second Legs)
  • Final: Sunday, June 2 (Single Leg)

Concacaf will announce the complete schedule for Round One, including kickoff times and other important details, in the days following the draw. 

In the competition's previous edition, disputed in 2023 between 16 clubs, Club Leon (Mexico) defeated Los Angeles FC (USA) 3-1 in the Final on aggregate to claim their first-ever Concacaf crown. The Mexican club will represent the Confederation in the 2023 FIFA Club World Cup in Saudi Arabia between December 12 and 22, 2023. Leon will make their Club World Cup debut on December 15 versus the 2023 Asian Football Confederations champion Urawa Reds (Japan) in the Second Round. Should they emerge victorious, they will advance to the Semifinals, where they will face the 2023 UEFA Champions League winners, Manchester City (England). 

By virtue of winning the 2023 Concacaf Champions Cup, Club Leon also secured a berth in the expanded 2025 FIFA Club World Cup, joining the 2021 and 2022 champions, CF Monterrey (Mexico) and Seattle Sounders FC (USA), respectively. The winner of the 2024 Concacaf Champions Cup will join these three clubs as the region's four representatives in the expanded 32-club FIFA Club World Cup 2025.