Participating clubs and draw pots confirmed for inaugural Concacaf W Champions Cup

Concacaf W draw 3
  • 11 clubs have secured a berth
  • Official draw and brand unveil set for June 6
  • Competition will crown regional club champion and serve as sole qualification route to new FIFA Women’s Club World Cup

Miami, FL (Friday, May 31, 2024)—Concacaf has confirmed the list of 11 clubs that have secured a berth in the inaugural edition of the Concacaf W Champions Cup. The Confederation’s new annual tournament includes the best clubs from North America, Central America, and the Caribbean and crowns the region’s women’s club champion.

The Concacaf W Champions Cup is also the sole path through which Concacaf clubs can qualify for the new FIFA Women’s Club World Cup. FIFA recently announced that the first edition will feature 16 clubs and be played between January and February 2026.

Concacaf has also confirmed the pots and procedures for the W Champions Cup official draw. At the live, made-for-tv event in Miami, FL, which will take place on June 6 at 8:00 p.m. ET, the Confederation will also unveil the tournament’s brand identity. Fans will be able to follow all the action through the Confederation’s partner networks and the Concacaf YouTube Channel.


The 11 available 2024/25 Concacaf W Champions Cup slots have been allocated amongst seven Member Associations that meet Concacaf’s eligibility criteria. Based on the qualification criteria proposed by these Member Associations and approved by the Concacaf Council, the 11 clubs qualified for the competition are, in alphabetical order by country:

Canada (1): Vancouver Whitecaps FC
Costa Rica (1): LD Alajuelense
El Salvador (1): Alianza Women FC
Jamaica (1): Frazsiers Whip Football Limited
Mexico (3): Tigres Femenil, CF Monterrey Femenil, Club America Femenil
Panama (1): Santa Fe FC
USA (3): NJ/NY Gotham FC, San Diego Wave FC, Portland Thorns FC


Draw Pots

In accordance with the competition regulations and the qualification criteria of each club, the 11 participants have been divided into six pots as follows:

Pot 1: Vancouver Whitecaps FC (CAN1) and Alianza Women FC (SLV1)
Pot 2: NJ/NY Gotham FC (USA1) and San Diego Wave FC (USA2)
Pot 3: Portland Thorns FC (USA3) and Tigres Femenil (MEX1)
Pot 4: CF Monterrey Femenil (MEX2) and Club America Femenil (MEX3)
Pot 5: LD Alajuelense (CRC1) and Santa Fe FC (PAN1)
Pot 6: Frazsiers Whip Football Limited (JAM1) and the Preliminary Round winner (PR1)

Draw Procedures

The draw will be carried out using a single-blind system and in two parts. First, a sphere will be drawn from Pot 1 to determine the host of the Preliminary Round. Once confirmed, the Group Stage Draw will begin.

Starting with Pot 2, the first club will be drawn and placed in Group A, position A1, followed by the second club in Group B, position B1. The same process will be followed for Pots 3, 4, 5, and 6, always placing the first club drawn in Group A and the second club in Group B.

At the conclusion of the Group Stage Draw, each group will contain no more than one club from each pot.


The Concacaf W Champions Cup includes a Preliminary Round, followed by group and direct elimination play. The Preliminary Round will be a single-leg match between two clubs, with the winner advancing to the Group Stage.

Preliminary Round: August 13-15, 2024

The Group Stage will feature 10 clubs divided into two groups of five clubs each. Each club will play every club in its group once, for a total of four matches per club (two at home and two away). At the conclusion of Group Stage play, the group winners and runners-up (four clubs in total) will progress to the competition’s Finals.

Group Stage Week 1: August 20-22, 2024
Group Stage Week 2: September 3-5, 2024
Group Stage Week 3: September 17-19, 2024
Group Stage Week 4: October 1-3, 2024
Group Stage Week 5: October 15-17, 2024

The Semifinals (1A vs 2B and 1B vs 2A), Third Place Match, and Final, where the first-ever Concacaf W Champions Cup champion will be crowned, will be centralized in a venue to be announced.

Finals (Semifinals, 3rd Place match, and Final): May 22-25, 2025