canMNT - training

Ahead of this summer’s CONCACAF Gold Cup, Canada Soccer have submitted their official Provisional List of 40 players eligible for the 2017 confederation championship.

Five Vancouver Whitecaps FC players made the list: defenders Sam Adekugbe and Marcel De Jong and midfielders Marco Bustos, Alphonso Davies, and Russell Teibert. Davies just received his Canadian citizenship earlier today – as well as his first call-up to the men’s national team.

All 12 nations can only select players from their respective 40-man rosters, starting with the 23-player squads that will dress for the group phase of the competition which starts July 7.

The CONCACAF Gold Cup is the official national team championship of the confederation, this year running from 7-26 July across 14 venues in the United States. Drawing large crowds and millions of television viewers from across the region, the CONCACAF Gold Cup is a celebration of soccer, sportsmanship, and culture.

Canada will play their group matches on July 7 against French Guiana in Harrison, on July 11 against Costa Rica in Houston, and on July 14 against Honduras in Frisco just outside Dallas.

“There is a motivation that Canadian players must have - the pride and the passion - in wearing the Canadian shirt,” said Octavio Zambrano, head coach of the men’s national team program. “It is not a shirt that can be given to just anyone, it is something that players need to earn and, once they put it on, they need to feel something different.”

Canada Soccer will select their 23-man squad for the CONCACAF Gold Cup in mid-June after a home international friendly match in Montréal. The team will open camp on June 28 in Ottawa, one day after the final match of the 2017 Canadian Championship between Toronto FC and Impact Montréal FC at BMO Field.

From the list of 23 players, nations can replace a player in the event of serious injury up until 24 hours before the team's first match in the group phase. After the group phase, each nation can amend their 23-man roster and replace up to six players with six new players. Throughout the CONCACAF Gold Cup, all replacements must come from the Provisional List of 40 players.

Tickets to the 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup are available via In Canada, fans can watch all of Canada's matches on TSN. Fans can also follow the Canadian team across all of Canada Soccer's digital channels.

GK- Milan Borjan | POL / MKS Korona Kielce
GK- Maxime Crépeau | CAN / Impact Montréal FC
GK- Jayson Leutwiler | ENG / Shrewsbury Town FC
GK- Simon Thomas | NOR / FK Bodø/Glimt
CB- Dejan Jaković | USA / New York Cosmos
CB- Manjrekar James | HUN / Vasas Budapest
CB- Milovan Kapor | Unattached
CB- Wandrille Lefèvre | CAN / Impact Montréal FC
CB- Adam Straith | CAN / FC Edmonton
CB- Steven Vitória | POL / Lechia Gdańsk
FB- Samuel Adekugbe | CAN /Vancouver Whitecaps FC 
FB- Juan Córdova | CHI / CD Huachipato
FB- Marcel de Jong | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC
FB- Andrés Fresenga | URU / Cerro Largo FC
FB- Nik Ledgerwood | CAN / FC Edmonton
FB- Tyler Pasher | USA / Sporting Kansas City
M- Fraser Aird | Unattached
M- Tesho Akindele | USA / FC Dallas
M- Scott Arfield | ENG / Burnley FC
M- Kwame Awuah | USA / New York City FC
M - Patrice Bernier | CAN / Impact Montréal FC
M- Marco Bustos | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC
M- David Choinière | CAN / Impact Montréal FC
M- Alphonso Davies | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC
M- Raheem Edwards | CAN / Toronto FC
M- Kianz Froese | GER / Fortuna Düsseldorf
M- Nicolas Galvis | Unattached
M- David Junior Hoilett | WAL / Cardiff City FC
M- Will Johnson | USA / Orlando City SC
M- Mark-Anthony Kaye | USA / Louisville City FC
M- Jonathan Osorio | CAN / Toronto FC
M- Michael Petrasso | ENG / Queens Park Rangers
M- Samuel Piette | ESP / CD Izarra
M- Tosaint Ricketts | CAN / Toronto FC
M- Russell Teibert | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC
F- Lucas Cavallini | URU / CA Peñarol
F- Marcus Haber | SCO / Dundee FC
F- Anthony Jackson-Hamel | CAN / Impact Montréal
F- Simeon Jackson | ENG / Walsall FC
F- Cyle Larin | USA / Orlando City SC