Girls Elite

Inter-Provincial Championship: Girls Elite win national title!

MicrosoftTeams-image (42)

LANGLEY, BC – Vancouver Whitecaps FC Girls Elite have already won an international title this year, a provincial title, and now a national title!

The 'Caps won the League1 Canada Inter-Provincial Championship on Sunday with a dominating 5-0 victory over League1 Québec champions Programme Excel Féminin (PEF) - part of the academy of fellow MLS club CF Montréal.

The opening goal came on 16 minutes. After a good spell of possession, Kierra Blundell corralled a ball in the box from Joy Kimwemwe and finished calmly to make it 1-0.

Six minutes later, Emma Yee made an absolutely brilliant turn in her own half, darted up field, and found Kimwemwe on the run to double the lead.

Before halftime, a sneaky lob on a free kick from Jeneva Hernandez-Gray found Jaime Perrault in the box to see a 3-0 lead going into halftime.

PEF Québec came out strong to start the second half, but the 'Caps would make it 4-0 on 53 minutes, as Hernandez-Gray scored one of her own after some good work from Kimwemwe.

Finally, in the 86th minute, Blundell played a phenomenal through-ball to send Kimwemwe in her for her second of the day in a 5-0 final.

This latest championship marks the sixth in the past year for Whitecaps FC Girls Elite, adding to their League1 BC regular season title (2023), playoff titles (2022 and 2023), Juan de Fuca Plate (2023), and FIFA/Blue Stars Youth Cup (2023).


Referee: Sydney Berridge

Scoring summary16' – VAN – Kierra Blundell (Joy Kimwemwe)
22' – VAN – Joy Kimwemwe (Emma Yee)
28' – VAN – Jaime Perrault (Jeneva Hernandez-Gray)
53' – VAN – Jeneva Hernandez-Gray (Joy Kimwemwe) 
86' – VAN – Joy Kimwemwe (Kierra Blundell)

Shots: PEF 12 - VAN 22
Shots on Goal: PEF 2 - VAN 13
Fouls: PEF 9 - VAN 2
Offsides: PEF 5 - VAN 0
Corners: PEF 2 - VAN 3
Yellow cards: PEF 0 - VAN 0
Red cards: PEF 0 - VAN 0

Vancouver Whitecaps FC Girls Elite
31.Carly Uchacz; 12.Jaime Perrault, 6.Emily Wong, 22.Tea Mayson, 3.Iba Oching; 11.Noelle Sather, 21.Jeneva Hernandez-Gray, 25.Taegan Stewart; 18.Emma Yee, 13.Joy Kimwemwe, 9.Kierra Blundell (c)

30.Sidney Venier, 2.Ava Burdeyny. 4.Racquel Partovi, 7.Chloe Taylor, 15.Aja Turner, 17.Bridget Mutipula, 24.Keelyn Stewart, 27.Mia Guterres, 28.Zahra Bains