Fulltime - Feb 24

CARSON, CALIFORNIA – Clinical finishes by Kei Kamara and Alphonso Davies made the difference against LA Galaxy on Saturday night, as Vancouver Whitecaps FC held out for a 2-1 win in their preseason finale at the StubHub Center.

Whitecaps FC struck first after Kamara converted from the penalty spot 20 minutes in. The new ‘Caps striker sent Galaxy keeper David Bingham the wrong way, placing his shot down the centre of the goal to score his team-leading fourth goal of the preseason. The ‘Caps were awarded the penalty kick after Cristian Techera was brought down by Galaxy midfielder Joao Pedro.

The home side came close to evening the score in the 30th minute, after a pass from Romain Alessandrini put Galaxy striker Ola Kamara one-on-one with ‘Caps keeper Stefan Marinović. But the Kiwi international stood tall and saved the chipped attempt.

Davies doubled the lead for the ‘Caps in the 52nd minute. The ball fell perfectly to the feet of the youngster after Yordy Reyna was dispossessed at the top of the box and he smashed the ball high to the near post, converting his second goal of the preseason.

The Galaxy replied with a goal of their own in the 66th minute, courtesy of a Giovani dos Santos penalty kick after the referee judged ‘Caps left back Marcel de Jong to have blocked Alessandrini’s bicycle kick attempt with his arm.

But Whitecaps FC held on for the 2-1 victory, concluding the preseason with a 5W-1L-1D record. The ‘Caps kick off the 2018 MLS regular season on Sunday, March 4 against Montreal Impact at BC Place. Single match tickets are on sale now.

For more information on Whitecaps FC ticket options, visit whitecapsfc.com/tickets.

Referee: David Gantar

Scoring Summary
20’ - VAN - Kei Kamara (penalty kick)
52’ - VAN - Alphonso Davies
66’ - LA - Giovani dos Santos (penalty kick)

7’ - VAN - Efrain Juárez
12’ - LA - Jorgen Skjelvik
49’ - LA - Romain Alessandrini
90’ – VAN - Stefan Marinović

LA Galaxy
1.David Bingham; 25.Rolf Feltscher, 28.Michael Ciani, 16.Jorgen Skjelvik,  3.Ashley Cole; 7.Romain Alessandrini, 2.Perry Kitchen; 88.João Pedro (14.Servando Carrasco 38’, 19.Chris Pontius 86’), 24.Emmanuel Boateng (17.Sebastian Lletget 68’); 10.Giovani dos Santos, 11.Ola Kamara

Vancouver Whitecaps FC
1.Stefan Marinović; 28.Jake Nerwinski (15.Sean Franklin 76’), 4.Kendall Waston ©, 22.Aaron Maund, 17.Marcel de Jong; 6.Efrain Juárez (16.Tony Tchani 62’), 31.Russell Teibert, 29.Yordy Reyna (11.Nicolas Mezquida 61’); 13.Cristian Techera (7.Bernie Ibini 76’), 23.Kei Kamara (9.Anthony Blondell 62’), 67.Alphonso Davies (20.Brek Shea 61’)