League1 BC: Boys Academy continue unbeaten start with 1-0 victory over TSS Rovers

MicrosoftTeams-image (6)

VANCOUVER, BC – Vancouver Whitecaps FC Boys MLS Academy continued their unbeaten start to the League1 BC season with a 1-0 victory against TSS Rovers at Ken Woods Field in UBC on Saturday afternoon.

The ‘Caps opened the scoring early on. Midfielder Amir Ghasemi made a run down the left wing and cut the ball back to forward Michael Hennessy, who slotted his strike into the bottom corner to give the 'Caps a 1-0 lead in the 14th minute.

TSS Rovers continued to push hard in the hopes of finding an equalizer throughout the match but the 'Caps held firm.

After the halftime interval, TSS substitute Taylor Richardson put a low attempt on target, which was parried away by goalkeeper Ben Alexander.

'Caps substitute Joel Demian had a chance late on in the match to double the lead, but TSS goalkeeper Justyn Sandhu denied his effort at the near post.

With each squad exchanging possession and opportunities in the latter stages of the match, the final whistle blew at Ken Woods Field as the Blue and White claimed all three points.

Whitecaps FC Boys MLS Academy are on the road next Sunday, June 4 as they visit Victoria Highlanders FC at Centennial Stadium, with kickoff set for 3:30 p.m. PT.


Referee: Niko Jecanski

Scoring Summary
14’ – VAN – Michael Hennessy (Amir Ghasemi)

24’ – VAN – Brennen Fuerst
47’ – VAN – Jaden Manetta
56’ – TSS – Tyler Dhillon
90’ – VAN – Nikolas White

Vancouver Whitecaps FC Boys MLS Academy
80.Ben Alexander; 93.Deylen Vellios, 68.Nikolas White, 81.Nikos Clarke-Tosczak (88.Joel Demian 66’); 94.Yayo Mutombo, 82.Brennen Fuerst ©, 77.Joven Mann (98.David Ajagbe 66’), 73.Jaden Manetta; 96.Luke Norman (79.Benedict Florent 90’+1’), 23.Amir Ghasemi (55.Patrick Izett 77’); 89.Michael Hennessy (72.Max Comsia 89’)

Substitutes not used
99.Matheus De Souza, 75.Ben Schouten, 88.Joel Demian, 98.David Ajagbe

TSS Rovers
1.Justyn Sandhu; 14.Tyler Dhillon (20.Taylor Richardson 60’) 59'), 17.Danyo Smychenko, 21.Shaya Zarjampour (7.Connor Macmillan HT), 25.Fugo Segawa; 13.Kyle Jones, 8.Ivan Mejia (22.Kian Proctor 88’), 6.Ali Zohar; 3.Gabriel Escobar (5.Nicholas Burret HT), 10.Matteo Polisi ©, 11.Erik Edwardson

Substitutes not used
30.Ahmed Hassona, 12.Grant Verhoeven, 24.Nikolas Papakyriakopoulos