League1 BC: 'Caps and TSS women thrill in end-to-end battle


VANCOUVER, BC – Vancouver Whitecaps FC Girls Elite earned a hard fought 1-1 draw at Ken Woods Field against TSS Rovers this Sunday afternoon.

The first half of the match began with a physical turn around as both teams looked to gain control of the possession with heavy tackles and a compact defence.

TSS Rovers earned their first chance of the match with an opportunity created from winger Maya Rogers, as her shot struck off the crossbar in the 17th minute of the match.

As the match progressed, Jamie Perrault passed on a ball to fullback Iba Oching, who's connection found Anna Hauer inside the box, her chip shot then just went wide of the net in the 21st minute.

The away side would open the scoring right before halftime, as Mia Pante's strong half volley strike outside the box found the back of the net in the 45th minute of the match.

As the match progressed, the 'Caps would find the equalizer later on in the second half following a strong save from Bella Lister. The 'Caps broke upfield and Jeneva Hernandez Gray's pass found winger Jamie Perrault, her shot then trickled into the left bottom corner of the net in the 56th minute.

Moments later, Aislin Streicek's run on the left flank led to an opportunity inside the box, as it was saved by Lister in the 78th minute.

Both squads looked to find a late winner, but the two defences fended off any opportunities as the final whistle blew.


Referee: Fil De Carvalo

Scoring Summary
45’ – TSS – Mia Pante
56’ – VAN – Jamie Perrault (Jeneva Hernandez Gray)


Vancouver Whitecaps FC
1.Bella Lister; 20.Iba Oching (7.Nyema Ingleton 77'), 3.Andrea Kraetzer, 5.Clare Logan, 14.Ava Wright (29.Mya Archibald HT); 4.Olivia Ahern Β© (9.Kierra Blundell 64'), 15.Izzy Monck; 18.Jamie Perrault, 21.Jeneva Hernandez Gray, 27.Ashley Roberts (19.Joy Kimwemwe 84'); 13.Anna Hauer

Substitutes not used
22.Leah Parsons, 2.Megin Turi, 11.Noelle Sather

TSS Rovers
30.Julia McDonald; 13.Mia Pante, 15.Molly Quarry, 21.Joanna Verzosa-Dolezal, 8.Ella Gagno; 12.Katie Bishop Β©, 10.Isabella Muzzolini, 9.Aislin Streicek; 2.Maya Rogers, 7.Claire Ye (18.Bella Roque 71'), 20.Kathleen Aitchison (24.Stella Downing 55')

Substitutes not used
1. Kirstin Tynan, 5.Cassie Chan, 6.Jessica Fennell, 14.Shayla Chorney, 23.Jess Merk


'Caps fall 2-0 in men's division

VANCOUVER, BC – Vancouver Whitecaps FC BMO U-19 Academy Boys recorded a 2-0 loss at Ken Woods Field against TSS Rovers on Sunday afternoon.

The first half started with TSS Rovers scoring the opening goal early in the match, as fullback Ali Zohar controlled a ball off his chest, his one touch pass led to Ivan Mejia going on a run in the left flank of the field, the forward tucked the ball home making it 1-0 in the 12th minute.

As the match progressed, the Rovers continued with their pressure in the final third. After a pass from Devin O'hea, the cut back play then led to Erik Edwardson's shot finding the back of the net following a deflection, doubling his side's lead in the 21st minute.

The second half would begin with the 'Caps defence blocking two consecutive shots from the Rovers, as goalkeeper Marshall Herald's save fended off a rebound in the 51st minute of the match.

Moments later in the match, Herald strongly saved a shot off forward Taylor Richardson.

The young 'Caps looked to push off the away side's momentum, but the final whistle came before the squad could find any answers inside the final third.


Referee: Joey Ratcliffe

Scoring Summary
12’ – TSS – Ivan Mejia (Ali Zohar)
21’ – TSS – Erik Edwardson (Devin O'hea)

86’ – VAN – Nikos Clarke-Tosczak

Vancouver Whitecaps FC
80.Marshall Herald; 69.Rohin Kapila (89.Shaya Zarjampour HT), 72.Eric Lajeunesse, 81.Nikos Clarke-Tosczak; 59.Jordan McInty (88.Alesandro Comita 76'), 82.Brennen Fuerst Β©, 77.Joven Mann, 36.Deylen Vellios (63.Juliano Campedelli HT); 74.TomΓ‘s PeΓ±a (79.Chris Album HT), 96.Luke Norman (94.Yayo Mutombo 76'); 42.Gurman Sangha

Substitutes not used
70.Harrison Gough, 71.Josh Tome

TSS Rovers
1.Justyn Sandhu; 6.Ali Zohar, 5.Owen McBride, 19.Nik White, 4.Jun won Cho (18.Jaskar Sodhi 85'); 7.Connor Macmillan Β©, 13.Kyle Jones, 8.Mark Talisuna (16.Naseeb Bains 76'); 9.Devin O'hea (17.Taylor Richardson 65'), 14.Ivan Mejia (21.John Joseph 76'), 11.Erik Edwardson (10.Daniel Davidson 72')

Substitutes not used
30.Tyson Gugushe, 2.Grant Verhoeven