Girls Elite Rivers

VANCOUVER, BC – Vancouver Whitecaps FC Girls Elite concluded their inaugural League1 BC regular season with a 2-1 victory against Rivers FC at Ken Woods Field this Friday evening.

With this victory, the 'Caps clinched a spot in the League1 BC championship game, set to be played on Monday, August 1 at Swangard Stadium against Varsity FC. Kickoff for the women's final will be at 1 p.m. PT. Tickets are available HERE.

The first half started quickly for the young ‘Caps, as Ashley Roberts’ short pass found Sierra Bergen on a counter attack. Following the play, Bergen’s short was then held off in the 11th minute of the match.

The home side continued to push on and gain momentum throughout the half. Anna Hauer was taken down in the box in the 25th minute and converted the penalty kick herself, as her strike rolled into the bottom left corner of the net.

The Blue & White would extend their lead near the end of the first half. Following some quick footwork from Roberts inside the box, her pass connected to Sienna Gibson, who’s one timed strike went off the inside of the crossbar and found the back of the net in the 42nd minute of the match to make it 2-0.

The second half saw Rivers FC forward Allanna Bekkering curling a strike in the 57th minute, which was held away by goalkeeper Leah Parsons.

With the match nearly at an end, the away side was handed a late penalty kick. Avery Tulloch converted from the penalty spot in the 90th minute to cut the lead in half.

The 'Caps would maintain their lead to the final whistle though and celebrate a fantastic accomplishment for the youngest team in the league.



Referee: Stephen Lebrechtausen

Scoring Summary
25’ – VAN – Anna Hauer (penalty kick)
42’ – VAN – Sienna Gibson (Ashley Roberts)
90’ – UNI – Avery Tulloch (penalty kick)

68’ – VAN – Clare Logan

Vancouver Whitecaps FC
22.Leah Parsons; 20.Iba Oching (34.Ireolowu Omotayo 84’), 5.Clare Logan ©, 7.Nyema Ingleton; 18.Jaime Perrault (19.Joy Kimwemwe 61’), 21.Jeneva Hernandez Gray (11.Noelle Sather 79’), 13.Anna Hauer, 31.Emily Wong, 16.Sienna Gibson (29.Mya Archibald HT); 27.Ashley Roberts (17.Emma Yee 61’), 24.Sierra Bergen (33.Keira Martin 79’)

Substitutes not used
30.Sierra Gallant

Rivers FC
1.Emily Edmunson; 14.Ellie Kabayama, 3.Molly McLeod (17.Olivia McLennan 87’), 5.Avery Tulloch, 7.Maddie Trozzo (23.Yasmina Enneddam 73’); 2.Marica Miljanovic (12.Jeannette Linton 87’), 8.Yvamara Rodriguez (6.Anika Black 73’), 15.Lorena Morano; 18.Allanna Bekkering (21.Jocelyn Orr 82’), 9.Ainsley Grether ©, 10.Hawi Abdissa (11.Emerson Hansen 79’)

Substitutes not used
1.Aliyah Fowler


Men's side end inaugural season with a draw

VANCOUVER, BC – Vancouver Whitecaps BMO Academy concluded their inaugural League1 BC season with a 2-1 victory against Rivers FC at Ken Woods Field this Friday evening.

The first half started with young ‘Caps midfielder Brennen Fuerst dribbling past two defenders inside the final third. As the opportunity arrived, Fuerst’s shot flew just wide of the net in the 30th minute of the match.

Rivers FC would open the scoring minutes later. A loose ball won back inside the area from Josh Banton ended with his strike flying into the top corner of the cage in the 34th minute of the match to open the scoring.

The second half saw the Blue & White level the game in the 63rd minute of the match following some pressure in the midfield, as Jaden Manetta’s strike off a quick counter attack found the back of the net.

As the home side continued to push, a solo effort from Chris Album saw the forward giving his squad a 2-1 lead in the 75th minute of the match, as his powerful strike curled into the top right corner of the net.

With the match progressing and nearing its end, the away side found the equalizer, as Dylan Hooper’s strike followed by Jose Hernandez’s pass from the right flank hit the back of the net in stoppage time.


Referee: Joshua Heuving

Scoring Summary
34’ – UNI – Josh Banton
63’ – VAN – Jaden Manetta 
75’ – VAN – Chris Album (Deylen Vellios)
90’ – UNI – Dylan Hooper (Jose Hernandez)

41’ – VAN – Alesandro Comita
45’ – UNI – Dylan Hooper
87’ – VAN – Asvin Chauhan

Vancouver Whitecaps FC
80.Marshall Herald; 36.Deylen Vellios ©, 71.Josh Tome, 72.Eric Lajeunesse; 82.Brennen Fuerst (78.Will Antoniuk 86’); 88.Alesandro Comita, 94.Yayo Mutombo (63.Juliano Campedelli 83’), 96.Luke Norman, 34.Jaden Manetta; 74.Tomás Peña (97.Asvin Chauhan 64’), 79.Chris Album (59.Jordan McInty 89’)

Substitutes not used
98.Max Campeau, 81.Nikos Clarke-Tosczak, 85.Sydney Wathuta

Rivers FC
31.Olivier Jumeau; 4.Josh Banton, 5.Elijah Dos Santos, 2.Jan Pirretas ©, 7.Dylan Hooper; 20.Marco Favaro (22.Abdel-aziz Yousef 57’), 25.Marques Scott, 12.Jonathan Rinaldi, 14.Daniel Sagno; 18.Kyle Hansen, 17.Denzel Marican ((9.Darupad Sharma 2’ (11.Jose Hernandez 64’))

Substitutes not used
1.Jackson Gardner, 3.Rhett Freiter, 16.Ethan Furlong, 19.Daler Tokhirov