Girls Elite

League1 BC: Girls Elite advance to championship final at BC Place


VANCOUVER, BC – Vancouver Whitecaps FC Girls Elite Academy came from behind to win 5-2 over TSS Rovers in the League1 BC semifinals at Ken Woods Field on Saturday. The 'Caps now advance to the League1 BC championship final next Saturday, August 5 at BC Place. Kickoff is at 1 p.m. PT, with tickets available on Ticketmaster.

TSS opened the scoring early, getting a goal in the second minute.

But the 'Caps would respond and take the lead before halftime. First it was Joy Kimwemwe, finishing a delightful cross from Iba Oching in the 16th minute.

Then, it was Emma Yee putting in a rebound in the 21st minute.

Late in the second half, Jaime Perrault would add two, and Kaylee Hunter with another on a penalty kick before TSS pulled one back for a 5-2 final score.

The 'Caps now look to defend their League1 BC title and add to their trophy case. They will play the winner of the other semifinal between second place Nautsa'mawt FC and third place Unity FC, taking place on Sunday at Thunderbird Stadium.


Referee: Joshua Heuving

Scoring summary
2' – TSS – Delana Friesen
16' – VAN – Joy Kimwemwe (Iba Oching)
21' – VAN – Emma Yee
73' – VAN – Jaime Perrault
77' – VAN – Jaime Perrault
81' – VAN – Kaylee Hunter (penalty kick)
86' – TSS – Nikki Virk


Vancouver Whitecaps FC Girls Elite
31.Carly Uchacz; 10.Sadie Brisbin (19.Aja Turner 83'), 3.Iba Oching Β©, 20.Keira Martin, 14.Sienna Gibson; 15.Ashley Roberts (24.Keelyn Stewart 67'), 11.Noelle Sather (25.Taegan Stewart 85'), 21.Jeneva Hernandez-Gray; 13.Joy Kimwemwe (12.Jaime Perrault 55'), 26.Kaylee Hunter, 18.Emma Yee (9.Kierra Blundell HT)

Substitutes not used
30.Sidney Venier, 17.Bridget Mutipula

TSS Rovers
29.Mae Hobenshield; 8.Shayla Chorney (23.Pak Tung Tsang 90'), 3.Sofia Faremo, 4.Katie Chan, 11.Amanda Scott; 10.Demi Levan (24.Kyara Armenta 70'), 13.Madi Elcombe (17.Isabella Paccani 83'), 12.Megan Soo (18.Maya Cuerrier HT) (6.Lauren Ebel 83'), 5.Maddy Mah, 21.Nikki Virk; 20.Delana Friesen

Substitutes not used
1.Kayla Klim, 15.Haley Issel