MLS releases ballot for year-end awards

Kamara, Davies - dancing

Major League Soccer on Monday released the ballots featuring the candidates eligible for each of the league's year-end awards. See below for the list of Vancouver Whitecaps FC players included and click here to view the entire ballot.

2018 Landon Donovan MLS MVP: Alphonso Davies
2018 Landon Donovan MLS MVP: Kei Kamara
Defender of the Year: Kendall Waston
Allstate Goalkeeper of the Year: Stefan Marinovic
MLS Works Humanitarian of the Year: Doneil Henry
Comeback Player of the Year: Doneil Henry
Comeback Player of the Year: Brett Levis

Players, media and technical staff will vote for each category, with each group representing a third of the vote. Those same voters will also submit their votes for the annual Best XI, open to any player who appeared in a 2018 MLS regular season match.

Voting kicks off on October 15 and award finalists will be announced on October 31.

Whitecaps FC host Sporting Kansas City on Wednesday night at BC Place (7 p.m. PT on TSN2 and TSN 1040 radio – tickets still available). The ‘Caps currently sit eighth in the Western Conference, three points out of the sixth and final playoff position, and control their own playoff destiny heading into the final three matches.