Kendall Waston closeup - white

Vancouver Whitecaps FC defender Kendall Waston has finished third in voting for the 2017 MLS Defender of the Year, Major League Soccer announced today. The winner of the award was Sporting Kansas City centre back Ike Opara, who earned 28.53 per cent of the votes, followed by Toronto FC fullback Justin Morrow and Waston, who earned 11.81 per cent of the votes.

The award was voted on by MLS club technical staff, media and current MLS players.

Below is a breakdown of the voting results:

Defender of the Year
Player Vote %
Media Vote %
Club Vote %
Average %
<p>Ike Opara (SKC)</p>
<p>Justin Morrow (TOR)</p>
<p>Kendall Waston (VAN)</p>
<p>Leandro González Pírez (ATL)</p>
<p>Matt Besler (SKC)</p>
<p>Joevin Jones (SEA)</p>

Waston was among the league leaders in a number of defensive categories this season, including headed clearances (first), total clearances (second), and blocks (fourth). He also contributed offensively with four goals, the second highest total among all defenders, and one assist.

This is the second time in three years Waston has been named a finalist for Defender of the Year.