Fulltime - Feb 10

HONOLULU, HAWAII – After back-to-back wins to start the preseason, Vancouver Whitecaps FC fell 1-0 to J1 League side Hokkaido Consadole Sapporo on Saturday night in the Pacific Rim Cup Final at Aloha Stadium.

Ken Tokura scored the game’s only goal in the 85th minute, directing a second-phase header into the gaping net after Brian Rowe tipped a free kick off the crossbar.

For the third straight match, Whitecaps FC head coach Carl Robinson fielded different starting XIs for each half on Saturday, aside from Russell Teibert who played the first hour. Notably, Yordy Reyna came on at halftime to make his first appearance of the preseason. And the Peruvian injected some life into Vancouver’s attack along with Alphonso Davies, who was lively again.

Vancouver’s best chances came from centre back Doneil Henry, who got on the end of a pair of set pieces but couldn’t find the back of the net.

The ‘Caps will now return to Vancouver tonight before heading back on the road – first for a friendly vs. USL side Las Vegas Lights FC on February 17 and then for additional preseason matches vs. Los Angeles Football Club and LA Galaxy. They will then kick off the 2018 MLS regular season on Sunday, March 4 against Montreal Impact at BC Place.

Single match tickets are on sale now. For more information on Whitecaps FC ticket options, visit whitecapsfc.com/tickets.

Scoring summary
85' – HCS – Ken Tokura

Vancouver Whitecaps FC

First half: 
1.Stefan Marinović; 15.Sean Franklin, 4.Kendall Waston, 26.Tim Parker, 27.Lucas Stauffer^;  31.Russell Teibert; 13.Cristian Techera, 6.Efrain Juárez, 16.Tony Tchani, 20.Brek Shea; 23.Kei Kamara

Second half:
12.Brian Rowe; 28.Jake Nerwinski, 2.Doneil Henry, 22.Aaron Maund, 17.Marcel de Jong; 66.Aly Ghazal, 31.Russell Teibert (7.Bernie Ibini 62’); 29.Yordy Reyna, 11.Nicolas Mezquida, 67.Alphonso Davies; 9.Anthony Blondell

Training camp invitee
^ Unsigned SuperDraft selection

Consadole Sapporo
1.Takanori Sugeno; 26.Ryota Hayasaka, 35.Ryosuke Shindo, 20.Tae Min Kim, 5.Akito Fukumori, 38.Daiki Suga; 10.Hiroki Miyazawa, 6.Shingo Hyodo, 31.Takumi Miyayoshi (11.Jonathan Reis HT); 41.Koji Miyoshi (13.Yoshihiro Uchimura 62'), 9.Ken Tokura