Whitecaps FC sign Erfan Hosseini as club's first eMLS competitor

Welcome Erfan

– Vancouver Whitecaps FC announced on Monday that the club has signed Erfan Hosseini as the ‘Caps first official eMLS representative. The 17-year-old will be the youngest competitor at the inaugural eMLS Cup, held in Boston, Massachusetts this April at PAX East, one of the largest gaming events in the world.

Hosseini will be introduced during the next home match at BC Place on Saturday, March 24 against LA Galaxy.

“It means everything to me to be chosen by my hometown club,” said Hosseini. “I’ve had an ambition to reach this level since last year, when I started playing competitively. I’m eager to put in a good performance at the tournament.”

The winner of eMLS Cup will advance to the EA SPORTS FIFA 18 Global Series Playoff, on the Road to the FIFA eWorld Cup – where the undisputed FIFA 18 World Champion will be crowned in August.

“Vancouver is a major hub for the gaming industry, so we are very excited to be a part of the inaugural eMLS Cup,” said Rachel Lewis, Whitecaps FC chief operating officer. “Erfan is a young, charismatic local gamer who has grown up as a ‘Caps fan. We’re looking forward to cheering him on this April.”
Hosseini, who goes by Skill Shack, was the winner of the Whitecaps FC live FIFA 17 Tournament last August at the Sport Chek store at Metrotown in Burnaby, BC. He was also recommended by renowned FIFA eSports analyst and commentator ChuBoi.
Follow Whitecaps FC on Twitch at
Erfan Hosseini
Birth Year: 
Shiraz, Iran
Burnaby, BC

About eMLS and eMLS Cup

Major League Soccer launched eMLS, a new competitive league for EA Sports FIFA 18 in January of 2018. MLS’s premier gaming event will feature elite FIFA players representing 19 MLS clubs vying for the eMLS Cup trophy, spots in the EA SPORTS FIFA 18 Global Series Playoffs on the Road to the FIFA eWorld Cup 2018, and a series of other prizes.*

Players will be divided into two conferences, with ten clubs in the Eastern Conference and nine in the Western Conference. Competitors will select their squad of 11 starting players, seven bench players and five reserve players. Each team must have three MLS players on the field at all times, including two players from the Club that they represent.

The eMLS Cup finalists will win berths in the EA SPORTS FIFA 18 Global Series Playoffs on the Road to the FIFA eWorld Cup. The top 32 competitors in the Global Series Playoffs will advance to the FIFA eWorld Cup in August, where the winner will be crowned the undisputed FIFA 18 World Champion.