John Herdman

Canada in Group A for women's Olympic qualifying tournament

Canada will play in a group with Costa Rica, Cuba and Haiti at the CONCACAF women's Olympic soccer qualifying tournament in January.

Canada is the top-seeded team in Group A.

The draw for the tournament was made today.

Joining the United States in Group B are Mexico, Guatemala and the Dominican Republic.

The eight-team tournament will be held January 19 to 29 at BC Place in Vancouver. The top two teams advance to next summer's Olympic Games in London.

The United States, Canada, Mexico, and Costa Rica are the favourites to represent the region that covers North America, Central America and the Caribbean.

Tournament packages will go on sale September 9, 2011, with affordable prices featuring an average ticket price of just under $6.50 per match across 15 matches in eight days of world class soccer.


GROUP A: Canada, Costa Rica, Cuba, Haiti

GROUP B: Dominican Republic, Guatemala, Mexico, United States