Women Huddle

Whitecaps FC win 2011 USL W-League Marketing award

United Soccer Leagues announced on Friday that Vancouver Whitecaps FC have been honoured with the 2011 W-League Marketing award.

USL and its club representatives took time out from the 2011 Annual General Meeting to honour its outstanding teams and individuals at the USL Hall of Fame and Awards Dinner at the Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa. The evening opened with speeches from USL CEO Alec Papadakis, Umbro USA’s Jerry Alleco and USL President Tim Holt.

It continued with a 2011 season highlights video presentation, followed by the induction of nine new members into the USL Hall of Fame, which has been divided into Men’s, Women’s and MISL wings. Among the inductees in the Women's wing was former Whitecaps FC striker Christine Sinclair. 

USL W-League Organizational & Executive Honours

Regular Season Champions: Ottawa Fury
Fair Play: Dayton Dutch Lions; Long Island Rough Riders
Marketing: Vancouver Whitecaps FC
Communications: Santa Clarita Blue Heat
Betsy McAdams Key Grip Award: Rachel Singer, Santa Clarita Blue Heat
Executive of the Year: Tim Schweitzer, Northern Virginia Majestics & D.C. United Women
Rookie Franchise of the Year: D.C. United Women
USL Progress Award: Santa Clarita Blue Heat
Organization of the Year: Ottawa Fury