Canadian women
Photo courtesy of Canada Soccer

Canadian women's national team names roster for upcoming matches

The Canadian Soccer Association announced on Monday the women's national team roster for upcoming camps in Boston, Massachusetts and Malmö, Sweden. Canada will play a pair of international friendly matches at the end of March, with Brazil the opponent on March 24 and Sweden the host opponent on March 31.

Canadian head coach John Herdman has called 21 players to the camp in Boston, including 14 Whitecaps FC women’s alumnae. Among the former ‘Caps players are goalkeeper Erin McLeod; defenders Candace Chapman, Carmelina Moscato, Shannon Woeller, Emily Zurrer, Melanie Booth, and Robyn Gayle; midfielders Kaylyn Kyle, Sophie Schmidt, Desiree Scott, and Brittany Timko; and strikers Chelsea Buckland, Christine Sinclair, and Melissa Tancredi.

For the trip to Sweden, coach Herdman has selected 20 players for the mini-camp and international match. Oduro and Marie-Eve Nault will not travel from Boston to Malmö, but former Whitecaps FC midfielder Chelsea Stewart will be added for the Sweden trip, bringing the total number of ‘Caps alumnae to 15.

After a recent 11-day break following the Cyprus Cup, the Canadian team will be in Boston from March 18-24, including the international match against one-time FIFA Women's World Cup silver medalist Brazil (from China 2007). Canada then flies to Malmö, Sweden on March 25 where they will stay through April 1, including the international match against another FIFA Women's World Cup silver medalist, Sweden (from USA 2003). Earlier this month, Canada participated in the 2012 Cyprus Women's Cup from February 28 to March 6.

Canada is currently preparing for the London 2012 Women's Olympic Football Tournament after qualifying earlier this year in Vancouver, BC. Canada will be one of 12 teams that participate in the tournament from July 25 to August 9.

GK- Karina LeBlanc
GK- Erin McLeod
CB- Candace Chapman
CB- Carmelina Moscato
CB- Shannon Woeller
CB- Emily Zurrer
FB- Melanie Booth
FB- Robyn Gayle

FB- Marie-Eve Nault
FB- Lauren Sesselmann
FB- Rhian Wilkinson
M- Kaylyn Kyle
M- Christabel Oduro
M- Kelly Parker
M- Sophie Schmidt
M- Desiree Scott
M- Chelsea Stewart
M- Brittany Timko
F- Chelsea Buckland

F- Christina Julien
F- Christine Sinclair
F- Melissa Tancredi