Camilo close-up
Bob Frid/Vancouver Whitecaps FC

Vote Camilo for top Latin American MLS player

Ready, set, VOTE!

The time has finally come for MLS fans to vote for the best Latin American player of the 2013 season. Voting is now officially open for’s Latino del Año 2013.

Last week, unveilled each one of the eight groups, including 32 players from 11 nationalities and representing 15 MLS clubs. Among the nominees for Latino del Año 2013 was Vancouver Whitecaps FC Golden Boot winner Camilo Sanvezzo, who is the top seed in Group A. Vote for Camilo below! and editors ranked the 32 best Latin American players throughout the 2013 MLS regular season, based on the following criteria:

  • Performance during the 2013 MLS regular season
  • Impact generated for his team
  • Number of times the player won/was nominated for Latino de la Jornada
  • Official games he played with his club

After nominations were in, editors ranked each player, with the first eight players claiming the top seed in each group.

During the group stage, the two players who receive the highest amount of points in each group will advance to the Round of 16, and will be paired up as follows:

  • S1: A1 vs. B2
  • S2: B1 vs A2
  • S3: C1 vs D2
  • S4: D1 vs C2
  • S5: E1 vs. F2
  • S6: F1 vs. E2
  • S7: G1 vs H2
  • S8: H1 vs G2

Don't miss's infographic with all the information about this year's nominees, as well as a bracket that you can download to predict your Latino del Año winner.

Created in 2010, Latino del Año is's annual contest to select the best Latin American player in MLS based on fan voting. The contest is held at the end of each MLS regular season, consisting of three weeks of voting by fans who determine which players advance to each round until a winner is chosen. In 2010, former Seattle Sounders Colombian striker Fredy Montero was crowned the winner. Former Sporting Kansas City Mexican forward Omar Bravo was the winner in 2011, while Honduran Boniek García won the 2012 contest.

2013 Latino del Año Schedule
October 28-31 – Latino del Año groups announced
November 4 – Online voting process opens for group stage
November 7 – Group stage winners announced & online voting opens for Round of 16
November 11 – Round of 16 winners announced & online voting opens for Quarterfinals
November 14 – Quaterfinal winners announced & online voting opens for the Final
Novermber 18 – 2013 Latino del Año winner announced.

Disclaimer: Latino del Año 2013 is not an official award given by Major League Soccer, but it is an award given by MLS fans through