Canada - XI - anthem - flag - Gold Cup - Red Bull Arena
Canada Soccer

Gold Cup: Canada make one change to roster, learn quarterfinal opponent

After finishing second in Group A with a 1W-0L-2D record, Canada will face Jamaica in the quarterfinals of the 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup on Thursday at the University of Phoenix Stadium (4:30 p.m. PT kickoff – all quarterfinal matchups will be broadcast on TSN).

Canada advanced to the Gold Cup quarterfinals for the first time since 2009 thanks to a 4-2 victory over French Guiana followed by a 1-1 draw with Costa Rica and 0-0 draw with Honduras. Jamaica also posted a 1W-0L-2D record in the group stage, defeating Curaçao 2-0 to open the tournament followed by a scoreless draw with Mexico and 1-1 draw with El Salvador.

Former Whitecaps FC striker Darren Mattocks scored two of Jamaica’s three goals during the group stage, while Whitecaps FC midfielder Alphonso Davies is tied with Martiniquais striker Kévin Parsemain for the tournament lead with three goals.

Davies is one of four 'Caps on Canada’s roster, including defenders Sam Adekugbe and Marcel de Jong and midfielder Russell Teibert. Canada made one change to their roster for the knockout round, adding striker Cyle Larin in place of midfielder Raheem Edwards.

The winner of Thursday’s match will face either Mexico or Honduras in the semifinals.

On the other side of the bracket, Kendall Waston and the Costa Rican national team are matched up against Panama, while the U.S. will face El Salvador.

Tickets for all matches of the knockout round of the Gold Cup are available by visiting

2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup Knockout Match Schedule
*Kickoff times listed in PT

Wednesday, July 19, 2017 - Lincoln Financial Field (Philadelphia, PA)
QF1: 3:00 PM -- Costa Rica vs. Panama
QF2: 6:00 PM -- United States vs. El Salvador

Thursday, July 20 - University of Phoenix Stadium (Glendale, AZ)
QF3: 4:30 PM -- Jamaica vs. Canada
QF4: 7:30 PM -- Mexico vs. Honduras

Saturday, July 22, 2017  - AT&T Stadium (Arlington, TX)
SF1: 7:00 PM -- Winner QF1 vs. Winner QF2

Sunday, July 23, 2017 - Rose Bowl (Pasadena, CA)
SF2: 6:00 PM -- Winner QF3 vs. Winner QF4

Wednesday, July 26, 2017 - Levi’s Stadium (Santa Clara, CA)
6:30 PM -- Winner SF1 vs. Winner SF2