2018 FIFA World Cup

The field is set for the 2018 FIFA World Cup

The field is set for the 2018 FIFA World Cup.

Peru booked the final ticket to Russia on Wednesday night with 2-0 win over New Zealand in an inter-confederation playoff, which will end Peru’s 36-year World Cup drought.  

That makes three Vancouver Whitecaps FC players who featured for World Cup-bound countries in 2017. Yordy Reyna was a part of the Peruvian squad during the last two sets of qualifiers, while Kendall Waston and Christian Bolaños played massive roles for Costa Rica throughout the campaign.

The draw for the 2018 FIFA World Cup will be held on December 1, while the tournament is set to run from June 14 to July 15 next year.

See the complete list of 32 World Cup-bound countries below.

Africa (CAF)

  • Egypt
  • Morocco
  • Nigeria
  • Senegal
  • Tunisia

Asia (AFC)

  • Australia
  • Iran
  • Japan
  • South Korea
  • Saudi Arabia

Europe (UEFA)

  • Belgium
  • Croatia
  • Denmark
  • England
  • France
  • Germany
  • Iceland
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Russia (host nation)
  • Serbia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland

North America (CONCACAF)

  • Costa Rica
  • Mexico
  • Panama

South America (CONMEBOL)

  • Argentina
  • Brazil
  • Colombia
  • Peru
  • Uruguay