'Caps for Canada - de Jong, Henry, Teibert, Davies

Four ‘Caps called up to Canada for Concacaf Nations League qualifier

VANCOUVER, BC – Vancouver Whitecaps FC confirmed on Thursday that defenders Doneil Henry and Marcel de Jong, and midfielders Alphonso Davies and Russell Teibert have been called up to the Canadian men’s national team ahead of 2018-19 Concacaf Nations League Qualifying this September. The 'Caps are on the most-represented club on the roster.

Les Rouges face US Virgin Islands on September 9 at IMG Soccer Stadium in Bradenton, Florida (watch live on Concacaf.com at 1 p.m. PT).

The four ‘Caps players will not miss any matches while they are on international duty, with the ‘Caps having a weekend off from MLS action during the FIFA international break.

At stake in 2018-19 Concacaf Nations League Qualifying is a spot in the 2019 Concacaf Gold Cup as well as the classification groups in Concacaf Nations League. From 68 qualifying matches, the top 10 nations will qualify for the 2019 Concacaf Gold Cup while the top-six nations will additionally qualify for CONCACAF Nations League "A".

Davies, de Jong, and Teibert were part of Canada’s squad in the 2017 Concacaf Gold Cup, helping the national side reach the quarterfinal stage for the first time since 2009. Davies was awarded the Golden Boot as the top scorer in the tournament, as well as the Young Player Award as the most promising player.

Henry is looking for his first national team cap since 2016, when he last featured in a 4-0 victory against Mauritania.

In international competition, de Jong has three goals in 55 appearances, Davies has three goals in six caps, and Teibert has one goal in 20 matches, while Henry has made 22 appearances.

Whitecaps FC are back in action this Saturday when they host San Jose Earthquakes. Kickoff at BC Place is at 7 p.m. PT. Visit whitecapsfc.com for ticket information.

1- GK- Maxime Crépeau | CAN / Ottawa Fury FC
2- FB- Zachary Brault-Guillard | FRA / Olympique Lyonnais
3- CB- Manjrekar James | DEN / FC Fredericia
4- CB- Derek Cornelius | SRB / FK Javor Ivanjica
5- CB- Dejan Jaković | USA / Los Angeles FC
6- M- Samuel Piette | CAN / Impact de Montréal
7- M- Russell Teibert | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC
8- M- David Wotherspoon | SCO / St. Johnstone FC
9- F- Cyle Larin | TUR / Beşiktaş JK
10- W- David Junior Hoilett | WAL / Cardiff City FC
11- F- Tosaint Ricketts | CAN / Toronto FC
12- W- Alphonso Davies | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC
13- M- Jay Chapman | CAN / Toronto FC
14- W- Liam Millar | ENG / Liverpool FC U-23
15- CB- Doneil Henry | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC
16- M- Scott Arfield | SCO / Glasgow Rangers FC
17- FB- Marcel de Jong | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC
18- GK- Milan Borjan | SRB / FK Crvena zvezda (Red Star Belgrade)
19- F- Lucas Cavallini | MEX / Puebla FC
20- F- Jonathan David | BEL / KAA Gent
21- M- Jonathan Osorio | CAN / Toronto FC
22- GK- Alessandro Busti | ITA / Juventus Primavera
23- W- Tesho Akindele | USA / FC Dallas