'Caps earn 1-1 preseason draw with Club Tijuana thanks to late PC equalizer

LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA – A late equalizer from Victor “PC” Giro helped Vancouver Whitecaps FC earn a 1-1 draw with the reserves of Liga MX side Club Tijuana on Wednesday afternoon at Dignity Health Sports Park.

After Xolos opened the scoring on a 66th minute free kick, PC levelled the score for the ‘Caps in the 84th minute with a strike from outside the box. Prior to PC’s equalizer, Vancouver’s best chances came off the foot of Lass Bangoura, including an effort off the post in the 38th minute.

It was Vancouver’s second consecutive draw, after a scoreless affair with LA Galaxy on Saturday.

Of note, centre back Érik Godoy made his preseason debut for the club on Wednesday, playing the first 31 minutes. Simon Colyn and Lucas Venuto also earned their first starts.

Venuto, who also played the first 31 minutes, formed a pacey front three with Bangoura and Yordy Reyna, who once again played as a centre forward with Joaquín Ardaiz and Fredy Montero having yet to join the team. Whitecaps FC head coach Marc Dos Santos would make 11 substitutions throughout the match.

The ‘Caps will play LAFC in their preseason finale on Saturday at Banc of California Stadium, before opening their 2019 MLS regular season campaign against Minnesota United FC on March 2 at BC Place.


Inbeom Hwang trained with the team on Monday and Tuesday but did not dress for Wednesday’s match … Michael Baldisimo (left ankle contusion), Jasser Khmiri (rehabilitating left knee following meniscus surgery in November), and Russell Teibert (left ankle strain) were unavailable due to injury … Ardaiz arrived in Vancouver on Tuesday and will join the group in LA once he receives his U.S. Visa … Montero is scheduled to arrive in LA on Thursday.

Vancouver Whitecaps FC
16.Maxime Crépeau (18.Zac MacMath HT); 23.Scott Sutter (28.Jake Nerwinski 63’), 2.Doneil Henry (13.Derek Cornelius 63’), 22.Érik Godoy (26.Brendan McDonough* 31’), 46.Brett Levis (94.Victor “PC” Giro 63’); 15.Andy Rose (53.Patrick Metcalfe^ HT), 6.Jon Erice © (24.David Norman Jr. HT), 54.Simon Colyn (8.Felipe © HT); 7.Lucas Venuto (56.Georges Mukumbilwa^ 31’), 29.Yordy Reyna (50.Theo Bair 63’), 19.Lass Bangoura (52.Gabriel Escobar^ 63’)  

^ Whitecaps FC Academy/Development player
* Unsigned SuperDraft selection