match report vs. Valour FC

VANCOUVER, BC – Vancouver Whitecaps FC continued their home stand with a 2-0 victory against Valour FC in the preliminary round of the Canadian Championship on Wednesday evening at BC Place.

The Blue & White opened the scoring after a give-and-go inside the box from winger Ryan Raposo and midfielder Ryan Gauld, with Raposo's shot saved by goalkeeper Rayane-Yuba Yesli, but Russell Teibert’s shot off the rebound found the back of the net inside the 19th minute of the match.

Just minutes later, the ‘Caps doubled their lead in quick fashion, as forward Déiber Caicedo made a run into the box and passed a ball to Raposo, who’s tap in made it 2-0 in the 23rd minute.

Sartini’s side looked to cushion their lead in the second half, controlling the tempo of the game and seeing out a comfortable victory.

The ‘Caps now advance in the Canadian Championship to face Canadian Premier League side Cavalry FC at ATCO Field on Wednesday, May 25.

Whitecaps FC continue their home stand at BC Place with a match against MLS side San Jose Earthquakes this coming Saturday, May 14. Kickoff is set for 4 p.m. PT. For tickets, visit


VWFC GE Appliances Player of Quality: Russell Teibert
Attendance: 7,803
Referee: Alain Ruch

Scoring Summary
19’ – VAN – Russell Teibert
23’ – VAN – Ryan Raposo (Déiber Caicedo)

Possession: VAN 48.9% – VAL 51.1%
Shots: VAN 14 – VAL 8
Shots on Goal: VAN 8 – VAL 2
Saves: VAN 2 – VAL 6
Fouls: VAN 13 – VAL 19
Offsides: VAN 4 – VAL 1
Corners: VAN 5 – VAL 2

38’ – VAL – Diego Gutiérrez
53’ – VAN – Lucas Cavallini
73’ – VAL – Daryl Fordyce

Vancouver Whitecaps FC
55.Cody Cropper; 2.Marcus Godinho, 26.Florian Jungwirth, 4.Ranko Veselinović, 28.Jake Nerwinski; 31.Russell Teibert ©, 33.Michael Baldisimo (16.Sebastian Berhalter 35’); 25.Ryan Gauld (11.Cristian Dájome 72’), 27.Ryan Raposo (23.Javain Brown 61’); 9.Lucas Cavallini (45.Pedro Vite 61’), 7.Déiber Caicedo (24.Brian White 61’)

Substitutes not used
60.Isaac Boehmer, 17.Leonard Owusu

Valour FC
99.Rayane-Yuba Yesli; 77.Federico Peña (4.Tony Mikhael 72’), 14.Stefan Cebara, 3.Rocco Romeo, 17.Brett Levis (70.Matthew Catavolo 69’); 16.Daryl Fordyce ©, 8.Diego Gutiérrez (6.Jacob Carlos 81’); 19.William Akio (22.Matteo de Brienne 81’), 24.Sean Rea, 11.Alessandro Riggi (2.Andy Baquero HT); 7.Moses Dyer

Substitutes not used
30.Evan Barker