2017 MLS SuperDraft

MLS announce initial list of 2017 MLS Player Combine invitees

MLS SuperDraft ballroom

NEW YORK – Major League Soccer today announced the initial 53 NCAA DI college players invited to participate in the 2017 adidas MLS Player Combine.

Top collegiate players from across the country will showcase their talents in front of representatives from all 22 MLS clubs in Los Angeles, CA from Jan. 8-12, 2017. All invited players will be eligible for selection in the 2017 SuperDraft presented by adidas which will take place at 12 p.m. PT on Friday, Jan. 13 at the LA Convention Center in conjunction with the NSCAA Convention.

Vancouver Whitecaps FC own the seventh overall pick.

A committee of MLS coaches and NCAA Division I coaches from every conference selected the invitees, all of whom completed their college eligibility this season. Further invitees including Generation adidas signings, non-collegiate players, and additional college seniors will be announced in the coming weeks. 

Seven semifinalists for the 2016 Men’s MAC Hermann Trophy headline this year’s list of initial invitees.

University of Denver defender Reagan Dunk was named a MAC Hermann Trophy finalist in each of the past two seasons, leading Denver to the best goals against average in the country (0.48) en route to an appearance in this year’s College Cup.

Besting Denver in the College Cup semifinals was Wake Forest University midfielder Jacori Hayes, who led his team with eight goals, narrowly missing out on a national championship with a runner-up finish.

Indiana University’s Tanner Thompson was named to the NSCAA All-America First Team while garnering Big Ten Midfielder of the Year honors.

Wuilito Fernandes guided UMass-Lowell to the school’s first ever America East Championship with 11 goals and an NSCAA All-America First Team selection.

Butler University forward David Goldsmith was named NSCAA All-America Second Team, finishing second in the Big East with 12 goals and winning the conference Co-Offensive Player of the Year Award.

Providence College midfielder Julian Gressel shared the Big East Co-Offensive Player of the Year honors with Goldsmith after finishing the season with 15 goals, tied for fourth best across the entire NCAA.

Rounding out the group is Vermont forward Brian Wright, who led the Catamounts to the NCAA Tournament behind 40 points, second in the NCAA, and 12 assists, tied for a national best.

Additionally, representing two-time defending NCAA champion Stanford University at the Player Combine is defender Brian Nana-Sinkam, the team captain and a 2016 All-Pac 12 First Team selection.

2017 adidas MLS Player Combine NCAA DI College Participants
(Alphabetical by last name)

Combine Invitees
Lalas AbubakarDaytonDAccra, Ghana; GhanaBIO
Michael AmickUCLADSunnyvale, CA; USABIO
Brandon AubreyNotre DameDPlano, TX; USABIO
Kwame AwuahUConnMToronto, ON; CanadaBIO
Nazeem BartmanSouth FloridaFCape Town, South Africa; South AfricaBIO
Kyle BjornethunSeattleDSnohomish, WA; USABIO
Brandt BronicoUNC-CharlotteMHigh Point, NC; USABIO
Russell CiceroneSUNY-BuffaloM/FBloomfield Hills, MI; USABIO
Suliman DanikehMarylandDReston, VA; USABIO
Michael DeGraffenriedtLouisvilleDBaltimore, MD; USABIO
Guillermo DelgadoDelawareFTres Cantos, Spain; SpainBIO
Nick DepuyUC Santa BarbaraFIrvine, CA; USABIO
Frances de VriesSaint Francis (Penn.)DChristchurch, New Zealand; New ZealandBIO
Reagan DunkDenverDDallas, TX; USABIO
Jack ElliottWest VirginiaD/MLondon, England; UKBIO
Wuilito FernandesUMass-LowellF/MPraia, Cape Verde; Cape VerdeBIO
Alec FerrellWake ForestGKWestlake, OH; USABIO
David GoldsmithButlerFBristol, England; UKBIO
Jorge Gomez SanchezTempleFTalavera De La Reina, Spain; SpainBIO
Julian GresselProvidenceMNeustadt an der Aisch, Germany; GermanyBIO
Sam HamiltonDenverMEvergreen, CO; USABIO
Niko HansenNew MexicoFSacramento, CA; USA/DenmarkBIO
Jacori HayesWake ForestMBowie, MD; USABIO
Joe HollandHofstraMLondon, England; UKBIO
Walker HumeUNC-Chapel HillDSan Angelo, TX; USABIO
Daniel JohnsonLouisvilleMDuluth, GA; USABIO
Aaron JonesClemsonDGreat Yarmouth, England; UKBIO
Eric KlenofskyMonmouthGKLincoln Park, NJ; USABIO
Austin LedbetterSIU-EdwardsvilleDSt. Charles, MO; USABIO
Zeiko LewisBoston CollegeMPembroke, Bermuda; BermudaBIO
Connor MaloneyPenn StateDHarrisburg, PA; USABIO
Napo MatsosoKentuckyMLouisville, KY; LesothoBIO
Billy McConnellIndianaDRichboro, PA; USABIO
Jake McGuireTulsaGKChino Hills, CA; USABIO
Lindo MfekaSouth FloridaM/FDurban, South Africa; South AfricaBIO
Robert MoewesDukeGKDortmund, Germany; GermanyBIO
Brian Nana-SinkamStanfordDLititz, PA; USBIO
Chris NancoSyracuseFBrampton, ON; CanadaBIO
Jakob NerwinskiUConnDLawrenceville, NJ; USABIO
Chris Odoi-AtsemMarylandDMitchellville, MD; USABIO
Evan PankenNotre DameMEdina, MN; USABIO
Danilo RadjenAkronDBroadview Heights, OH; USABIO
Robby SagelPenn StateDLas Vegas, NV; USABIO
Eddie SanchezPortlandM/FCanby, OR; USABIO
Aaron SchilderWashingtonGKBellingham, WA; USABIO
Justin SchmidtWashingtonDAlbuquerque, NM; USABIO
Colton StormUNC-Chapel HillDMechanicsburg, PA; USABIO
Christian ThierjungCaliforniaFDove Canyon, CA; USABIO
Tanner ThompsonIndianaMLoomis, CA; USABIO
Felix VobejdaUCLAM/DBielefeld, Germany; GermanyBIO
Chris WehanNew MexicoMLaguna Niguel, CA; USABIO
Jordan WilsonKentuckyDAuchterarder, Scotland; UKBIO
Brian WrightVermontFAjax, ON; CanadaBIO