Peter, Graeme and Eric

Eric Hassli travelling to Los Angeles, California, to attend the 2011 ESPY Awards


Vancouver Whitecaps FC are pleased to announce that Eric Hassli will travel to Los Angeles, California, to attend the Excellence in Sports Performance Yearly Awards presented by ESPN, better known as the ESPYS, on Wednesday night. Hassli has been nominated for the ESPYS’ Best Play award for his goal against Seattle Sounders FC on June 11, which has received more than five million online hits to date. 

The 'Best Play' category began with the top plays of the past sporting year matched up head-to-head in a Round of 16, which fans voted for online. On July 6, the polls closed and the Best Plays were narrowed down to eight remaining contenders.

On Wednesday, the field was further narrowed down to four finalists. Voting is now open and fans can vote throughout the day and during the live ESPY Awards show for the Best Play winner, who will be announced at the end of the evening.

The finalists include Hassli's incredible goal, NFL Pro-Bowler DeSean Jackson's punt return, Manchester United striker Wayne Rooney's bicycle kick, Seattle Seahawks running back Marshawn Lynch's touchdown run, and a late entry from the United States women's national team.

Fans can vote now for Hassli by visiting and clicking the 'Vote for Best Play' link. Votes will determine if Hassli wins this year’s Best Play award. Follow the latest on Hassli’s ESPY journey on and

“I am looking forward to attending the ESPYS and am grateful for all the support I have received from fans,” said Hassli. “To be nominated for the Best Play award, alongside star athletes from the NHL, NBA, NFL, and EPL is very exciting.”

“This nomination is an honour for Vancouver Whitecaps FC, and is a great way to raise awareness for the sport, as well as for MLS,” said Bob Lenarduzzi, Vancouver Whitecaps FC president. “The ESPYS are essentially the Oscars for sports, and this is the first-ever 'Best Play' nomination for MLS, so we are encouraging all fans to vote for Eric Hassli’s spectacular goal."

The ESPY Awards were started by ESPN in 1993 and have given sports fans from around the world the opportunity to vote online in categories such as Best Male Athlete, Best Female Athlete, Best Coach/Manager and Team of the Year, among others. Since 2004, ESPN personalities such as sportswriters, broadcasters, and executives now also partake in the vote. ESPY Award winners are then selected through an online fan balloting system conducted from candidates selected by the ESPY Select Nominating Committee.