Canadian women's national team names roster for Yongchuan Cup


The Canadian Soccer Association announced on Friday the travel roster for the upcoming 2013 Yongchuan Cup Four-Nation Women’s Tournament in China PR. Canadian women’s national team head coach John Herdman has selected 21 players for the camp, with players departing North America this coming Sunday, January 6. The team will play international matches on January 12, 14 and 16.

Among the 21 players on the roster are nine Vancouver Whitecaps FC women’s alumni, including: goalkeeper Erin McLeod; defenders Robyn Gayle and Emily Zurrer; midfielders Kaylyn Kyle, Sophie Schmidt, Desiree Scott and Chelsea Stewart; and strikers Jodi-Ann Robinson and Christine Sinclair.

Canada’s matches are January against hosts China PR (2 p.m. local / 12 a.m. PT), January 14 against Korea Republic (7 p.m. local / 5 a.m. PT), and January 16 against Norway (5 p.m. local / 3 a.m. PT). All three matches will be played at the Yongchuan Olympic Center.

For Herdman, the camp in China PR represents the start of a new campaign ultimately leading towards the FIFA Women's World Cup Canada2015™.

"It is the start of a new journey and it is time for new players who want to be part of that journey," said the Canadian coach.

"We are trying to achieve a style of play and performance that the country can really enjoy and be proud of. We have identified some gaps in our performances and we need to begin exploring the changes that will allow us to close those gaps."

This marks Canada’s first project of the 2013 international season. The roster features a mix of established players and young prospects. 12 of the 21 players won bronze medals with Canada at last year’s London 2012 Women’s Olympic Football Tournament. Captain Christine Sinclair is included in the group, although she will not be eligible to play because of an international suspension.

Amongst the younger players, seven of them have yet to make their international “A” debut. Those seven youngsters are defenders Kadeisha Buchanan and Shelina Zadorsky and midfielders/forwards Tiffany Cameron, Ashley Lawrence, Adriana Leon, Christabel Oduro and Nichelle Prince.

GK- Karina LeBlanc |
GK- Erin McLeod | SWE / Dalsjöfors G.o.I.F.
CB- Kadeisha Buchanan | CAN / Erin Mills Mighty Eagles U-16
CB- Shelina Zadorsky | CAN / Toronto Lady Lynx
CB- Emily Zurrer | SWE / Dalsjöfors G.o.I.F.
FB- Robyn Gayle |
FB- Bryanna McCarthy | USA / University of West Virginia
FB- Lauren Sesselmann |
FB- Rhian Wilkinson | NOR / Lillestrøm SK Kvinner
M- Kaylyn Kyle |
M- Ashley Lawrence | CAN / Erin Mills Mighty Eagles
M- Diana Matheson | NOR / Lillestrøm SK Kvinner
M- Christabel Oduro | CAN / Hamilton FC
M- Sophie Schmidt | SWE / Kristianstads DFF
M- Desiree Scott | CAN / WSA North Stars
M- Chelsea Stewart | USA / UCLA

F- Tiffany Cameron | USA / Ohio State University
F- Adriana Leon | USA / University of Florida
F- Nichelle Prince | CAN / Pickering SC
F- Jodi-Ann Robinson |
F- Christine Sinclair |