MLS SuperDraft ballroom
USA Today Sports Images

MLS announce initial list of 2017 MLS Player Combine invitees

NEW YORK – Major League Soccer today announced the initial 53 NCAA DI college players invited to participate in the 2017 adidas MLS Player Combine.

Top collegiate players from across the country will showcase their talents in front of representatives from all 22 MLS clubs in Los Angeles, CA from Jan. 8-12, 2017. All invited players will be eligible for selection in the 2017 SuperDraft presented by adidas which will take place at 12 p.m. PT on Friday, Jan. 13 at the LA Convention Center in conjunction with the NSCAA Convention.

Vancouver Whitecaps FC own the seventh overall pick.

A committee of MLS coaches and NCAA Division I coaches from every conference selected the invitees, all of whom completed their college eligibility this season. Further invitees including Generation adidas signings, non-collegiate players, and additional college seniors will be announced in the coming weeks. 

Seven semifinalists for the 2016 Men’s MAC Hermann Trophy headline this year’s list of initial invitees.

University of Denver defender Reagan Dunk was named a MAC Hermann Trophy finalist in each of the past two seasons, leading Denver to the best goals against average in the country (0.48) en route to an appearance in this year’s College Cup.

Besting Denver in the College Cup semifinals was Wake Forest University midfielder Jacori Hayes, who led his team with eight goals, narrowly missing out on a national championship with a runner-up finish.

Indiana University’s Tanner Thompson was named to the NSCAA All-America First Team while garnering Big Ten Midfielder of the Year honors.

Wuilito Fernandes guided UMass-Lowell to the school’s first ever America East Championship with 11 goals and an NSCAA All-America First Team selection.

Butler University forward David Goldsmith was named NSCAA All-America Second Team, finishing second in the Big East with 12 goals and winning the conference Co-Offensive Player of the Year Award.

Providence College midfielder Julian Gressel shared the Big East Co-Offensive Player of the Year honors with Goldsmith after finishing the season with 15 goals, tied for fourth best across the entire NCAA.

Rounding out the group is Vermont forward Brian Wright, who led the Catamounts to the NCAA Tournament behind 40 points, second in the NCAA, and 12 assists, tied for a national best.

Additionally, representing two-time defending NCAA champion Stanford University at the Player Combine is defender Brian Nana-Sinkam, the team captain and a 2016 All-Pac 12 First Team selection.

2017 adidas MLS Player Combine NCAA DI College Participants
(Alphabetical by last name)

Combine Invitees
Name School Position Hometown/Citizenship Bio
Lalas Abubakar Dayton D Accra, Ghana; Ghana BIO
Michael Amick UCLA D Sunnyvale, CA; USA BIO
Brandon Aubrey Notre Dame D Plano, TX; USA BIO
Kwame Awuah UConn M Toronto, ON; Canada BIO
Nazeem Bartman South Florida F Cape Town, South Africa; South Africa BIO
Kyle Bjornethun Seattle D Snohomish, WA; USA BIO
Brandt Bronico UNC-Charlotte M High Point, NC; USA BIO
Russell Cicerone SUNY-Buffalo M/F Bloomfield Hills, MI; USA BIO
Suliman Danikeh Maryland D Reston, VA; USA BIO
Michael DeGraffenriedt Louisville D Baltimore, MD; USA BIO
Guillermo Delgado Delaware F Tres Cantos, Spain; Spain BIO
Nick Depuy UC Santa Barbara F Irvine, CA; USA BIO
Frances de Vries Saint Francis (Penn.) D Christchurch, New Zealand; New Zealand BIO
Reagan Dunk Denver D Dallas, TX; USA BIO
Jack Elliott West Virginia D/M London, England; UK BIO
Wuilito Fernandes UMass-Lowell F/M Praia, Cape Verde; Cape Verde BIO
Alec Ferrell Wake Forest GK Westlake, OH; USA BIO
David Goldsmith Butler F Bristol, England; UK BIO
Jorge Gomez Sanchez Temple F Talavera De La Reina, Spain; Spain BIO
Julian Gressel Providence M Neustadt an der Aisch, Germany; Germany BIO
Sam Hamilton Denver M Evergreen, CO; USA BIO
Niko Hansen New Mexico F Sacramento, CA; USA/Denmark BIO
Jacori Hayes Wake Forest M Bowie, MD; USA BIO
Joe Holland Hofstra M London, England; UK BIO
Walker Hume UNC-Chapel Hill D San Angelo, TX; USA BIO
Daniel Johnson Louisville M Duluth, GA; USA BIO
Aaron Jones Clemson D Great Yarmouth, England; UK BIO
Eric Klenofsky Monmouth GK Lincoln Park, NJ; USA BIO
Austin Ledbetter SIU-Edwardsville D St. Charles, MO; USA BIO
Zeiko Lewis Boston College M Pembroke, Bermuda; Bermuda BIO
Connor Maloney Penn State D Harrisburg, PA; USA BIO
Napo Matsoso Kentucky M Louisville, KY; Lesotho BIO
Billy McConnell Indiana D Richboro, PA; USA BIO
Jake McGuire Tulsa GK Chino Hills, CA; USA BIO
Lindo Mfeka South Florida M/F Durban, South Africa; South Africa BIO
Robert Moewes Duke GK Dortmund, Germany; Germany BIO
Brian Nana-Sinkam Stanford D Lititz, PA; US BIO
Chris Nanco Syracuse F Brampton, ON; Canada BIO
Jakob Nerwinski UConn D Lawrenceville, NJ; USA BIO
Chris Odoi-Atsem Maryland D Mitchellville, MD; USA BIO
Evan Panken Notre Dame M Edina, MN; USA BIO
Danilo Radjen Akron D Broadview Heights, OH; USA BIO
Robby Sagel Penn State D Las Vegas, NV; USA BIO
Eddie Sanchez Portland M/F Canby, OR; USA BIO
Aaron Schilder Washington GK Bellingham, WA; USA BIO
Justin Schmidt Washington D Albuquerque, NM; USA BIO
Colton Storm UNC-Chapel Hill D Mechanicsburg, PA; USA BIO
Christian Thierjung California F Dove Canyon, CA; USA BIO
Tanner Thompson Indiana M Loomis, CA; USA BIO
Felix Vobejda UCLA M/D Bielefeld, Germany; Germany BIO
Chris Wehan New Mexico M Laguna Niguel, CA; USA BIO
Jordan Wilson Kentucky D Auchterarder, Scotland; UK BIO
Brian Wright Vermont F Ajax, ON; Canada BIO