League1 BC: Men clinch playoff spot


VANCOUVER, BC Vancouver Whitecaps FC Boys MLS Academy clinched a spot in the League1 BC playoffs with a 3-1 win over Harbourside FC at Thunderbird Stadium on Sunday. The victory also put the club in position to clinch the Juan de Fuca Plate with two more wins. The Juan de Fuca Plate is awarded each year by supporters to the club with most combined points by both the men's and women's sides at the end of the League1 BC season.

Sydney Wathuta scored first for the 'Caps in the 29th minute, finishing low to the keeper's left.

Suka Behery tied it up for Harbourside in the 42nd minute.

In the second half, Joven Mann finished a cross to put the 'Caps up 2-1. Finally in the 83rd minute, David Ajagbe put it away to make it 3-1.

The 'Caps next play at Unity FC on Sunday, July 16. Kickoff will be at 3:30 p.m. PT and broadcast live as the League1 BC featured match on the League1 BC YouTube channel and on TELUS Optik channel 1993.


Referee: Niko Jecanski 

Scoring summary
29' – VAN – Sydney Wathuta
42' – HAR – Suka Behery
76' – VAN – Joven Mann
83' – VAN – David Ajagbe

86' – HAR – Jordan McKinty 

Vancouver Whitecaps FC Boys MLS Academy
80.Ben Alexander; 93.Deylen Vellios, 68.Nikolas White, 81.Nikos Clarke-Tosczak; 85.Sydney Wathuta (58.Amoni Thomas 85'), 77.Joven Mann, 82.Brennen Fuerst © (69.Koji Poon 30'), 73.Jaden Manetta; 96.Luke Norman, 89.Michael Hennessy (23.Amir Ghasemi 62'); 64.Thomas Raimbault (98.David Ajagbe HT)

99.Matheus De Souza, 71.Luka Assaf, 94.Yayo Mutombo

Harbourside FC
30.Carl Weir; 5.Callum Magog (13.Declan Brown 73'), 14.Fergus Hall ©, 21.Matthew Coburn; 2.Jordan McKinty (12.Béghin Mobray 88'), 8.Tysen Chatani (6.Rhys Faragher 83'), 16.Charlie Purcell (17.Maxwell Dadzie 73'), 22.Ambrose Tinmouth; 7.Suka Behery, 10.Billy Bagiopoulos (20.Taylor Arbour 88'), 11.Jonathan McKenzie (18.Owen Degelman 60')

1.Marko Illich