League1 BC: Men earn hard fought point


VANCOUVER, BC – Whitecaps FC Boys MLS Academy continued their 2023 League1 BC season with a 1-1 draw against Rivers FC at Thunderbird Stadium this Sunday afternoon.

The match began quickly for the visiting side. Marco Favaro’s attempt on target found the back of the net just inside the third minute to give his side an early 1-0 lead.

Rivers FC would find another opportunity on target, as Finn Marshall’s attempt ended up being parried away by goalkeeper Matheus De Souza in the 26th minute.

Right before the halftime interval, Luke Norman saw his curled effort strike the crossbar in the 45th minute.

In the second half, the visiting side would find an attempt sent in by Favaro, but his shot was comfortably held by De Souza in the 59th minute of the match.

Moments later, the Blue & White evened things up in the 63rd minute. Koji Poon set up midfielder Joven Mann for a simple finish as the home side continued to push.

The home side would end up finishing the match up by a man following an ejection from Rivers FC’s Elijah Dos Santos in the 82nd minute.

Neither side could find another goal though. The final whistle blew at Thunderbird Stadium as the young ‘Caps shared a point each with Rivers FC.

The next match for the ‘Caps Academy is set to be at Ken Woods Field against Altitude FC this upcoming Friday, May 12 for a 8:30 p.m. PT kickoff.


Referee: Mo Mohseni

Scoring Summary3’ – RIV – Marco Favaro
63’ – VAN – Joven Mann

Cautions61’ – VAN – Nikos Clarke-Tosczak
70’ – VAN – Joshué Ndakala
80’ – RIV – Jan Pirretas
86’ – RIV – Dylan Hooper
88’ – RIV – Jost Hausendorf

Ejections82’ – RIV – Elijah Dos Santos

Whitecaps FC Boys MLS Academy99.Matheus De Souza; 68.Nikolas White, 95.Joshué Ndakala, 81.Nikos Clarke-Tosczak; 94.Yayo Mutombo, 82.Brennen Fuerst (75.Ben Schouten 72’), 77.Joven Mann, 85.Sydney Wathuta; 96.Luke Norman, 69.Koji Poon (98.David Ajagbe 64’), 89.Michael Hennessy ( 23.Amir Ghasemi 58’)

Substitutes not used
60.Ewan Musson, 72.Max Comsia, 74.David Pepple, 79.Benedict Florent

Rivers FC30.Olivier Jumeau; 2.Jan Pirretas ©, 5.Elijah Dos Santos, 6.Domenico Comita; 11.Jost Hausendorf, 3.Minwoo Kang (19.Bhagvir Sidhhu 61’), 21.Marco Favaro, 7.Dylan Hooper; 12.Jonathan Rinaldi, 9.Ayman Sahmuddeen ((18.Khalil Dos Santos 36’)(17.Denzel Marican 74’)), 22.Finn Marshall

Substitutes not used
1.Evan Scholes, 13.Steffen Masaites, 20.Ethan Furlong, 26.Cole Jackson