Academy Awards-26

Vancouver Whitecaps FC recently held the first annual Academy Awards for members of the Whitecaps FC BMO MLS Academy.

The event was hosted by club reporter Sarita Patel, and presenters included Whitecaps FC director of academy operations Dave Irvine, academy education and welfare officer Elizabeth Watanabe, first team striker Tosaint Ricketts, sporting director Axel Schuster, and first team head coach and director of methodology Vanni Sartini.

The club recognized graduating players and handed out the following awards:

Student-Athlete Award

Awarded to a student-athlete on each team who has demonstrated academic excellence, been a model citizen of the school and has positively contributed to the school community.

Academy Awards-21

Valter Sedin

Michael Adams

Max Comsia

Eric Kim

Academic Progress Award

Awarded to student-athletes who have improved their academic standing through their commitment and dedication to learning.

Hayden Franks

Jayden Thompson

Cohen Park & Chosen Jones

Nico Mesiano & Harrison Gough

Cornerstone Award

Awarded to the player that has demonstrated a consistent level of leadership in their peer group. This player leads by example both on and off the field and epitomizes the club's cornerstones: Team Spirit, Discipline, Work Ethic, Mentality.

Academy Awards-31

Alex Ochoa

Ben Lee

Benedict Florent

Alesandro Comita

Player of the Year Award

Awarded to the player that has been the consistent top performer for their team.

Liam Mackenzie

Academy Awards-35

Jeevan Badwal

Academy Awards-37

Joel Demian

Academy Awards-39

Joven Mann

Academy Awards-42

Academy XI

Academy Awards-217

Awarded to the eleven top-performing players in their position across all academy teams over the course of the season.

Honourable Mention
Valter Sedin (U-15)
Mateo Clark (U-15)
Markus Rukavina (U-16)
Cohen Park (U-17)
Christian Greco-Taylor (U-17)
Alesandro Comita (U-19)
Luke Norman (U-19)

Starting XI
GK: Max Anchor (WFC2)
CB: Luca Chen (U-15)
CB: Jeevan Badwal (U-16)
CB: Joel Demian (U-17)
WB: Immanuel Mathe (U-16)
WB: Mihail Gherasimencov (U-17)
CM: Liam Mackenzie (U-15)
CM: Joven Mann (U-19)
F: Chris Album (U-19)
F: Michael Hennessy (U-17)
F: Kyler Vojvodic (U-16)